Laptop as HTPC - Asus 1201N Eee PC

Discussion in 'Barebones and commercial HTPC's' started by kesar, May 31, 2010.

  1. kesar
    • Premium Supporter

    kesar MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 4, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Poland Poland
    Show System Specs
    I'm preparing to setup my 3rd client. This one will be placed in my bedroom.
    I analyzed mainly ION based barebones like: Zotac, Asrock, Asus, Foxconn but finally came up with this laptop
    Asus 1201N. It will be connected to 27'' LCD monitor with speakers mounted to the diy stand.

    Instead of dedicated client I'll have spare latop at home for additional €70. Any of you have similar setup and can share opinion about such solution, please? Do you see any downsides of this approach?



    Thanks,
    kesar
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Ruud
    • Premium Supporter

    Ruud MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 5, 2004
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Hi Kesar,

    nice netbook. Looking at the specs this will for sure run MP.
    I used to run MP on my (old) Acer Aspire One, this one only had problems with HD movies (because it lacks the GPU power = no ION ;)).

    One downside of using a laptop is that the lid (screen) has to be opened because otherwise it will go into standby / hibernation: at least with mine. So the placement of the netbook has to be thought of carefully, very annoying if you have it in sight while watching a movie (you see the same contents on the netbooks screen. With a special key combination you can switch it of, but still...

    hope this is helpfull,

    regards,
    Ruud.
     
  4. kesar
    • Premium Supporter

    kesar MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 4, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Poland Poland
    Show System Specs
    Hi Ruud,
    thanks for your advice - good point. To be clear on this: when I connect the video plug to the laptop I will have both displays on. Am I correct?
    I thought there is a possibility to configure hardware profile that in case of secondary display connected the first display goes off (similar to "twice Fn+F8" on many laptops). I'm not sure if this can be achieved automatically, though.
    In any case I can turn the laptop in opposite direction, I guess ;)

    regards,
    kesar
     
  5. Ruud
    • Premium Supporter

    Ruud MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 5, 2004
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Hi Kesar,

    correct! I use the Fn-F4 key on my system (have it currently running Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook edition), no experience with automatic switching the screen off when connecting or switching on the TV / external screen as this is probably a windows feature.

    regards,
    Ruud.
     
  6. loc

    loc Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    hi kesar

    in windows xp in the control panel under power options -> advanced you can set it to leave the laptop running when you close the screen. i'm certain there is the same options under vista and windows7.

    i have used this option lots of times when i have wanted to use my laptop plugged into a monitor.

    hope this helps.:)
     
  7. Ruud
    • Premium Supporter

    Ruud MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 5, 2004
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Hi,

    good tip! So used to switching it off manually that I never looked any further: same tip applies to Ubuntu 10.04 btw ;)

    regards,
    Ruud.
     
  8. kesar
    • Premium Supporter

    kesar MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 4, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Poland Poland
    Show System Specs
    Thx, loc. Exactly, good tip. Thank you, I will configure it this way. I just have to order all devices. I was just checking if this is a good idea with laptop and it seems it is.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!