Login for user "sa" failed

Discussion in 'General Support' started by etheesdad, November 26, 2008.

  1. etheesdad
    • Team MediaPortal

    etheesdad Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 8, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    TV-Server Version: svn2075
    MediaPortal Version: svn2075
    MediaPortal Skin: monochrome
    Windows Version: xp mce sp3
    CPU Type: celeron 2.4
    HDD: seagate 80 + WD 160
    Memory: 1gb ddr
    Motherboard: ga-8ig1000 pro
    Video Card: radeon 9200 se
    Video Card Driver: 8.252.0.0
    Sound Card: soundblaster
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver: 5.1.260.5512
    1. TV Card: hve-1100
    1. TV Card Type: dvb-t
    1. TV Card Driver: 2.122.2619.0
    2. TV Card: dvt2000h
    2. TV Card Type: dvb-t
    2. TV Card Driver: 4.0.112.3113
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: k-lite
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: k-lite
    h.264 Video Codec: k-lite
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: silverstone lc20
    Cooling: custom
    Power Supply:
    Remote: imon
    TV:
    TV - HTPC Connection: s-video

    I had this error for about a week after trying to install a couple of epg grabbers, and figured the best thing to do would be just to delete the database and start again.

    So I uninstalled mssql express, then reinstalled it, then reinstalled TV Server. All went ok yesterday, with tv server running fine.

    When I rebooted my machine today it choked and wooudnt let me start the tv server because the login sa failed.

    So I ran setuptv.exe --configure-db and put in the correct details, hit test, got green lights. Then when I run setuptv.exe after that, the login failed again. It wont start the TV server.

    I dont understand how the test login works ok but when setuptv uses the same credentials to log in it gets locked out (?)

    Can anyone advise me how to get tvserver to talk to mssql again?

    BTW, this is a single-seat installation. SQL browser service is running. There are exceptions in the firewall. Switching off the Firewall makes no difference.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Saying password is "poi", not "MediaPortal", user login is fine at "sa", have you changed anything from default.
     
  4. etheesdad
    • Team MediaPortal

    etheesdad Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 8, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Thanks for your reply

    the password was initially 'poi', but when I reinstalled MS SQL Express and TV Server, I deleted all of the folders from the MSSQL installation to ensure a clean install. Then when I reinstalled MSSQL I set the pwd to 'MediaPortal'

    I then uninstalled and reinstalled tv server.

    The errors at the top of the log are from the previous installation. The ones at the end refer to the current issue (sorry for not making this clear in the post).

    Have attached another error.log with no information from previous install.
     
  5. etheesdad
    • Team MediaPortal

    etheesdad Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 8, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
  6. etheesdad
    • Team MediaPortal

    etheesdad Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 8, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
  7. Cybertex

    Cybertex Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 9, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milano
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Hi,
    log reports a "login failed for 'sa'". Have you checked in Management Studio that you're using the correct 'sa' password? A simple connection using sa will be enough.

    Then, check the file "gentle.config" (both in TV Server program folder and settings folder) to see if it use the correct password.
     
  8. JoePlumber

    JoePlumber Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 26, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    network engineer
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Have you changed the computer name? If so, your backups of Tv server will not work.
    Rename the computer to its previous netbios name and try again.

    Check your Tv-server hostname is the same as your computer's name. Example: mediabox5

    Install SP2 for SQL Server 2005. Login with "sa" and click Save.
     
  9. etheesdad
    • Team MediaPortal

    etheesdad Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 8, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Thanks very much for the replies.

    Gentle.config was ok, and hadnt changed the name of the computer.

    I Ended up getting around it by uninstalling tvserver (again) and deleting the database (again), then re-installing tv server and making a new database.

    Seems to be ok now. (PHEW!)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!