Long time to start playing a video.

Discussion in 'StreamedMP' started by Gfer, June 18, 2010.

  1. Gfer

    Gfer Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 29, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    So I have all of my files on a server. I shared the harddrives over the network and I access the remote shares through my HTPC in my living room. Whenever I play a video through my HTPC in my living room, it takes about 2 minutes for it to start. During this time, MediaPortal is unresponsive. However, after it starts I have no problems playing any other file from any plugin, it loads instantly. I'm running the latest version of StreamedMP and the tvseries and moving pictures plugin that come with it. I guess MediaPortal or any of the plugins are having difficulty connecting to these remote shares. I've mapped these remote shares up as network drives on my HTPC. It should connect to them automatically on start up.


     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. aots74
    • Premium Supporter

    aots74 MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Hi Gfer,

    Might not be the same problem but I also had very slow listings and starts for a while there. Recently I checked and tv series had many files that had not been automatically imported due to their naming. Fixed all of those up, ran an import and fixed anything that still didn't work with the manual importer. Also checked that all files in moving pictures had been recognised and added to the database. After that everything started instantly. I have a feeling (but could be wrong) that during the pause MP was still trying to recognise these files. Might not be the problem but that's what worked for me.

    Cheers
     
  4. Gfer

    Gfer Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 29, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I don't think that's the problem, just did a fresh import of both moving pictures and tvseries. I remapped my shared drives using ip numbers instead of computer names and i added them to the exclusion list in my anti-virus software. That fixed it pretty much. It still takes roughly 3-5 secs to start it. Kind of a nuisance but bearable compared to the 2 minute startup I had previously :p. I want to try SAF 5.0, hopefully loading videos will be faster using that.
     
  5. lanceuppercu

    lanceuppercu Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 13, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1 / 2
    3-5 secs slow? mine takes about 20 seconds to start a tv episode! (1gb mkv, over a gigabit network)
     
  6. lfs
    • Premium Supporter

    lfs MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 31, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
  7. zappomax

    zappomax Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 24, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    How much ram U've on yr HTPC? When I had only 1gb on my HTCP I got same problem. Increase ammount of ram to resolve it (2gb should be enogh).
     
  8. Gfer

    Gfer Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 29, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I believe there's 2gb of ram in the HTPC.
     
  9. lanceuppercu

    lanceuppercu Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 13, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1 / 2
    i gave that a go and it actually took longer with v0.7.26, i might do a bit more testing but my problem is with MKV files.

    the htpc has 2gb ram (acer revo 3610) and the same goes for the server where the files are held (self build pc 2gb ram as well as a qnap t409 NAS) and is running over a gigabit LAN.

    its not just my htpc, my housemate has a dell vostro 220 which generally is faster than my htpc (better processor etc) and there is a noticeable pause when selecting a movie or tv ep to watch.

    (am using the latest versions of MP/moving pics/mytvseries/streamedmp etc)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!