Love StreamedMP but need 4:3 -Is there a similar 4:3 skin or what changes can I make? (1 Viewer)

kenp2600

Portal Member
December 11, 2008
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I really love the StreamedMP skin and use it on my widescreen TV. However, on my 4:3 tv things don't line up exactly right (font overlap, etc). I mainly use Moving Pictures and MP-TV Series currently. I have 2 questions.

First, what 4:3 skin is most similar to StreamedMP?

Second, if I were to customize the skin to fit 4:3 (at least for the areas I use most) what modifications would I need to make? I'm a software developer so I'm not concerned about doing the customizing, but if it were too extensive it might not be worth it in the long run.

Thank you

rkooten

Portal Pro
August 3, 2008
Home Country
I'm busy modding streamedMP to 4:3. I've made quite some progress, but it will still take some time. I won't be releasing any half-finished versions but at least now you know there's a version coming. It's up to you whether you want to wait.

One downside: I don't watch television, so that won't be properly supported. That is, I'll try to add as much as I can but I won't be able to test it. Perhaps someone else can add TV support once it is released.

It's not a quick and dirty mod as I'm cutting bigtime in the code. A lot of the code in streamedMP seems to be deprecated code from other skins. I'm also streamlining the skin by downsizing the number of files that are used, trying to add more consistent use of graphics and dimensions, adding proper comments and documentation, resizing the graphics, updating it to MP 1.0 specs etc.

I can tell you that there is a lot of work involved to do a proper 4:3 mod! When I started I thought it was a simple matter of changing the dimensions and resizing the graphics... turned out there's a bit more involved than that... :p