mce remote issues in windows 7

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by antoshka12, February 24, 2009.

  1. antoshka12

    antoshka12 New Member

    Joined:
    February 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hey guys!
    after installing win7 i have got this weird problem. my remote control wont work properly.
    MP doesnt recognize the play, stop, ff, fb, back and info bottons anymore, wich is funny becouse
    everything works perfectly in Windows Media Center and in Vista.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. 7bft

    7bft New Member

    Joined:
    April 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    yuppp, got the same issue here. I have not found a solution yet. tryed ir server, which actually enables me to start mediaportal with the green button, but then no buttons at all work in mediaportal. if I uninstall ir server the behaviour is the same as yours. if you come across a solution let me know.... cheerz and happy tinkering with windows 7....
     
  4. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Simply no driver support, this is happening to people including myself, where nothing is really designed to work with windows 7, same went for Vista before it was unleashed on the public.
     
  5. antoshka12

    antoshka12 New Member

    Joined:
    February 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    good to know. gues the only solution is to wait it out.

    thanks for your replies!
     
  6. Lyxalig
    • Premium Supporter

    Lyxalig MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 30, 2005
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    IT student
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Got MCE-remote to work!!

    I struggled the whole evening with this, and noticed using ir server suite that the problem was not with the drivers, but with the communication between input service and the mediaportal plugin. I don't know if this is the reason why things didn't work from the start, but I noticed that Windows7 defaults to IPv6. when doing a ping to localhost , you get this:
    C:\Users\htpc>ping localhost

    Pinging htpc-PC [::1] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from ::1: time<1ms
    Reply from ::1: time<1ms
    Reply from ::1: time<1ms
    Reply from ::1: time<1ms

    The first line says that my machines name is htpc-PC, So i tried pinging that:
    C:\Users\htpc>ping htpc-PC

    Pinging htpc-PC [fe80::753c:936c:6af5:2590%12] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from fe80::753c:936c:6af5:2590%12: time<1ms
    Reply from fe80::753c:936c:6af5:2590%12: time<1ms
    Reply from fe80::753c:936c:6af5:2590%12: time<1ms
    Reply from fe80::753c:936c:6af5:2590%12: time<1ms

    So I tried changig server from localhost to htpc-PC inside the MCE-Control plugin, and suddenly everything worked.

    Setup:
    Windows 7
    MP 1 + Latest svn (15/02/09)
    IRSS Test Build 1.4.2.2627
    (Changed registrysettings as stated on "you don't need Replacement driver")

    Hope that helps you guys enjoy 7 with remote.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. 7bft

    7bft New Member

    Joined:
    April 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    thanks for the info, will try today in the evening an let you know. cheerz, hannes.
     
  8. Vimes
    • Premium Supporter

    Vimes MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 19, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Earth, for now
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    For me it wasn't just the MCE remote that was causing issues with W7 32bit it was also the automatic refresh changer, built into the latest SVN build, that either stopped working or never did work (noted when I checked if it actually did change to 24hz). The screen notification would pop up to indicate a change but the refresh rate remained the same.

    Also, just to try it out, even though I configured MP to use an external player, MPC Home Cinema, it would not launch but use the internal one.

    Running under vista 32 both the remote and refresh rate changing works perfectly well. Also using an external player works fine, even though I now use the internal one.
     
  9. r_a_s_robin
    • Premium Supporter

    r_a_s_robin MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 6, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utrecht
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Good job figgering it out Lyxalig. On vista i didn't use that IRSS plugin. But now with the small change of 'localhost' --> 'computername' it makes my MCE remote come alive again! :)
     
  10. mortenbn

    mortenbn New Member

    Joined:
    June 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Thanks Lyxalig

    Will try this tonight!

    Do you do this in IR Suite, or?

    :sorry:
     
  11. johnloon

    johnloon New Member

    Joined:
    February 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks!

    Thanks for the solution.
    I fixed the problem using the latest test-version of the IR-server Suite.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!