Media Center remote control (1 Viewer)

chrisn8cuh

Portal Member
February 18, 2006
Does the Media Center remote control work with MediaPortal? I am new to all this so I am realllly curious about it all.

onkl

Portal Pro
February 18, 2005
Wageningen
Home Country
Netherlands Netherlands
The MCe remote is supported by Media Portal natively, so most probably, you won't have any problems.
The blaster part (to control other devices like set-top boxes) is also supported, but that takes some more work.

Marcusb

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 16, 2005
    Melbourne
    Also, if you get the choice, go for the European 2005 version. It has the fou extra colour teletext buttons down the bottom and these are used as shortcut keys to make MP a LOT easier to use.

If you have XP PRO SP2 or MCE, it should work straight out of the "box". If you have XP Home, you'll need to play withsome extra files, but it's not too hard.

Noelix

Portal Pro
    February 18, 2006
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    Marcusb said:
    Also, if you get the choice, go for the European 2005 version. It has the fou extra colour teletext buttons down the bottom and these are used as shortcut keys to make MP a LOT easier to use.

If you have XP PRO SP2 or MCE, it should work straight out of the "box". If you have XP Home, you'll need to play withsome extra files, but it's not too hard.

Where's a good place to buy this remote? I've looked all over the interweb but usually they don't specify what model they are... Should I get one of the ones listed on Newegg or from somewhere else? See link...
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?Submit=Browse&Manufactory=1149&Subcategory=283

Noelix

Portal Pro
    February 18, 2006
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America