Media Portal 1.1.0 BETA 1 and Windows Vista

Discussion in 'Installation, configuration support' started by technick, September 6, 2009.

  1. technick

    technick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    -/-


     
    Last edited: January 15, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. hulkhaugen

    hulkhaugen Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 9, 2008
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ROV Pilot
    Location:
    Arendal
    Ratings:
    +58 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Interesting to see your setup.

    Why do you disable firewall and nvidia drivers? thought the drivers was necessary to exploit your gpu.
    What do you use PDVD9 for? BluRay integrated into MP?
    Why not use 7-Zip instead of WinRAR?

    I have to investigate this refresh rate settings sometime, don't have so much knowledge about it, but i think i'm able to increase display quality by using it right. Does it autodetect, or do you change frequencies manually?
     
  4. technick

    technick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    -/-
     
    Last edited: January 15, 2013
  5. hulkhaugen

    hulkhaugen Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 9, 2008
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ROV Pilot
    Location:
    Arendal
    Ratings:
    +58 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    ok. But you can install PDVD9 codec without installing the PDVD9 codec, both MPEG-2 and h.264, check out SAF, and how to "unlock" it.

    7-Zip is free, WinRAR is not. I went from WinRAR to 7-Zip myself about a year ago, and i don't look back.

    I thought that MediaCenter had to be installed for MP to work properly, or some other features of it was needed. I know you don't need it in XP, but i thought both Vista and Win7 relayed on it...hmm.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. technick

    technick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    -/-
     
    Last edited: January 15, 2013
  7. god_md5

    god_md5 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Hong Kong Hong Kong
    is you hd tv video mean Digital TV ?
     
  8. technick

    technick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    -/-
     
    Last edited: January 15, 2013
  9. philippe
    • Premium Supporter

    philippe MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 6, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lyon
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Nice PC-HT....
    Seems great !

    You are using full moon display changer because of 2 screens ?
    I am going to test your cmd batch file.
    Is 23 Hz better than 24Hz for 23.976 fps ?

    Are you using the Yamaha RVX 3800 DAC for decoding Music Audio PCM via HDMI ?
    I am an audiophile too but my Mediaportal works on XP with a dedicate audio card
    Did you notice a great improvement for music in Vista / XP ?

    Thanks Technick for this post

    Philippe
     
  10. technick

    technick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    -/-
     
    Last edited: January 15, 2013
  11. sa_ddam213
    • Premium Supporter

    sa_ddam213 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 3, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Canterbury
    Ratings:
    +291 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Have You tried using The "alternate shell" option in vista Group policy to use mediaportal as a shell insead of explorer.
    HTPC boots to welcome screen then mediaportal starts (no desktop ,no explorer) works flawlessly for me.



    Try This Bro
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!