Media portal extenders? (1 Viewer)

pieroxy

Portal Pro
November 21, 2005
Paris, France
Hello there,

I am a Vista Media Center user and was looking to move to SageTV this week, until Google killed the products. I am now again on the market for an alternative.

What I am looking for is to have a central server (which will be headless) and a bunch of extenders in several rooms for the family. SageTV was the dream product for this. Windows Media Center is not too bad, but for the fact that the extenders have to be XBoxes...

My question is: Is there a software/hardware that can do that with a media portal server ?

For reference, here is what I want in an extender:
- Fast and simple access to my media library (music, videos, photos)
- Access to the EPG and programming interface for recording TV and programming recordings
- Ability to watch live TV and recorded TV.

Since I have no experience with media portal, I ask the question to the community.

Lehmden

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 17, 2010
    Lehmden
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    AW: Media portal extenders?

Hello.