1. We plan to roll out a major software update (XenForo 2.1) to the forum within the next 24h. If you post a thread or answer to an existing thread it may not get ported so please keep that in mind. New member registrations won't be possible until we finally switched.
    Dismiss Notice

MediaPortal client prevents standby

Discussion in 'Installation, configuration support' started by erikture, August 6, 2009.

  1. erikture
    • Premium Supporter

    erikture MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    TV-Server Version: 1.0.2
    MediaPortal Version: 1.0.2
    MediaPortal Skin: X-Factor
    Windows Version: Vista 64
    1. TV Card: Fire-DTV DVB-C X 2

    Hello!

    I have a HTPC running MediaPortal 1.0.2.
    I have both client and server on the same computer.
    As I am running 4TheRecord I am not using the PowerScheduler plugin. I am using the windows Power settings.
    This has been working perfect for mounths. The computer have entered sleep after 10 minutes of inactivity.
    However that is not the case any more. When MediaPortal client open the computer never sleeps.
    First I thought that it was MovingPictures that caused it. But that was not the case. I have tried to disable every plugin I am using. Turned off the watch of the music char directory and so on. I have set the log level to debug. There is nothing in the log during a long time, ie the computer should enter sleep. If I close the MediaPortal client the computer always goes to sleep.

    I do not know what causes this behaviour or why it suddenly have started.
    I am not really sure when this has started, befor 1.0.2 or not or before doing the last windows update.

    How to trace the cause?



    /Erik
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Logs?
     
  4. Bussiebaer

    Bussiebaer Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 11, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  5. erikture
    • Premium Supporter

    erikture MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I am using the latest 4TheRecord 1.4.0.1.
    As the thumbnail creation is on the server of 4TheRecord and that is running when the MediaPortal client is closed that can not be the cause.

    I have attatched the log files that is produced when starting Mediaportal and not doing anything else than closing it again after some time.
    My powersettings in Vista is that the screen is turened of after 2 minutes and the computer should enter S3 after 3 minutes. The short time before entering S3 is just for faster testing. Normaly I use to have 8 and 10 minutes. The screen is turned off as expected but the computer is not. There is a lot of disk access going on but nothing is written in any log. If Mediaportal client is not on then the computer always enters S3 after 3 minutes.

    /Erik
     
  6. erikture
    • Premium Supporter

    erikture MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Hello!

    I have done some more digging into my problem.
    I have noticed when MediaPortal is running there is a lot of writing to the page sys file, ie this indicates that memory is not enough. Memory consumption was something about 69 percent. I looked at the major memoryconsumer and found it was MS SQL. It occupied almost 0.5 Gb of memory. I switched to MySQL. MYSQL uses less than 0.1 Gb memory. But still it is a lot of writing to disc even when the Home page is active and mediaportal does nothing. 44 percent of the memory is used. I have 4 Gb RAM memory.

    I can not understand why so much disk access is done. Could this be the cause or else what?
    Again if I close MediaPortal client the computer always goes into standby as expected.


    /Erik
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!