MP 1.1.0 RC1, fresh install TV client not working

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 1 & 2' started by VdR, April 15, 2010.

  1. VdR
    • Premium Supporter

    VdR MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 17, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgium
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I build a new client system and updated to MP RC 1.1.0 RC1. The TV server and the new client work fine, but I cannot successfully install on the two existing clients.

    I tried a fresh install of MS Windows XP Pro SP3 with all updates, installed the MP 1.1.0 RC1 client without any additional plugins or skins and did a minimal setup (TV server name and Video folder).

    When starting live TV I just get a frozen image. MP does not freeze, I can stop live TV and start it again, I get an updated frozen image.

    It works for the new client, so I conclude that the TV server is fine. On the failing client the TV guide works, so the basic connection with the TV server is ok too.

    Logs are attached. The only thing I see are many 'Late b-frame' messages in the TS reader log. Could this be related to the problem?



    Help would realy be appreciated since I have two clients down and an unhappy family because of that.

    VdR


    MediaPortal Version: 1.1.0 RC1
    MediaPortal Skin: StreamedMP
    Windows Version: XP professional SP3
    CPU Type: Intel P4 530 3.0 GHz HT (S775)
    HDD: WD 500 GB SATA 7200 RPM + 4x WD USB2.0 500 GB (on remote server)
    Memory: 2 GB (2 x 1GB) Kingston DDR400 Dual Channel
    Motherboard: ASUS PTGD-LR
    Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 4350 512 MB DDR2
    Video Card Driver: 10.3
    Sound Card: Realtek Intel High Definition Audio (7.1) 24 bits / 96 kHz
    Sound Card AC3: S/Pdif coaxial to Logitech Z5500
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: BlackGold GDI (in remote server)
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver: GDI 5.17.107.43
    2. TV Card: BlackGold GDI (in remote server)
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    2. TV Card Driver: GDI 5.17.107.43
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: MPC - MPEG-2 Video Decoder (Gabest)
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: MPC - MPA Decoder Filter
    h.264 Video Codec: ffdshow Video Decoder
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: none
    HTPC Case: HP Z522
    Cooling: Cooler Master KDH-5067K
    Power Supply:
    Remote: HP MCE remote
    TV: Samsung LE32R41B
    TV - HTPC Connection: Sub-D
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
  4. fripsy

    fripsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 11, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grasse
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Re: MP 1.2.0 RC1, fresh install TV client not working

    Hi VdR,

    I think you got your MP versions a little mixed up in your post... ;)

    But, the client that is not working is a fresh install (Windows and MP), so my guess is a codec problem, perhaps re-install the codecs?

    Just a thought...

    Fripsy.
     
  5. tom78

    tom78 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 10, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: MP 1.2.0 RC1, fresh install TV client not working

    Only as comment:
    I had the same Problem last weekend with 1.1.0 RC 1.
    When i switchen from VMR to EVR, i hat another issue with a popup called "ActiveMovie Window".
    (Already posted in an other thread)
    I hope RC2 works better.
     
  6. VdR
    • Premium Supporter

    VdR MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 17, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgium
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Re: MP 1.2.0 RC1, fresh install TV client not working

    Indeed I mixed up the release numbers. Has been corrected. Thanks for pointing this out.

    It's not a codec problem as far as I can tell. Using the codecs with the MP install shows the problem, changing to ffdshow gives the same problem.

    That makes sense. The installation is a week old, so it is outdated ;).

    Suggesting to go for RC2 and posting the warning about the problems immediately below is a nice one. I'm somewhat concerned to break the only working installation ...

    VdR
     
  7. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    We think part of the problem is TVService needs to be restarted using the TV config, before running MP config and finally reboot.

    Most of us upgrading have had no problems, mainly because we did above as a matter of habit :)
     
  8. VdR
    • Premium Supporter

    VdR MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 17, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgium
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: MP 1.2.0 RC1, fresh install TV client not working

    Exactly the same here. EVR will fix it, but then this window shows up every time I start TV.

    VdR
     
  9. VdR
    • Premium Supporter

    VdR MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 17, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgium
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I thought that EVR might be a workaround. Together with 'keep MP always on top' it just shows a little, be it annoying, glitch when starting and stopping TV. But (there is always a but) with EVR there are problems playing other video. EVR just isn't for XP.

    That leaves me with a broken MP setup on two out of three clients.

    The problem is a combination of things (complex problems always are): MP 1.1.0, XP, VRM9 and ATI.

    No problem with MP 1.0.2 on XP using VRM9 on an ATI HD4350
    No problem with MP 1.1.0 RC1 on XP using EVR on an ATI HD4350
    No problem with MP 1.1.0 RC1 on XP using VRM9 on a NVIDIA ION platform

    All ATI drivers from version 9.1 to 10.3 show the issue.

    Is the problem with the HD4350 only or on a wider range of ATI?

    Does anybody have a working installation with MP 1.1.0 RC1 on XP using VRM9 on an ATI HD4350 ???

    Do I

    1) Try RC2 (and break the one working setup I have)? Why would RC2 possibly be better?
    2) Buy two new video cards (change from ATI to NVIDIA)?
    3) Buy two Windows 7 licences and go to use EVR?

    Drastic times call for drastic measures. Any suggestions?

    VdR

    It looks like I have found a solution, at least for one of the clients.

    I installed the ATI Avivo CODEC and selected 'ATI MPEG Video Decoder' for the M-PEG2 TV codec. That plays TV with VRM9 on the HD 4350 with MP 1.1.0 RC1.

    Note that MPC and ffdshow don't work and show the same problem.

    On the other client it looked OK but then I had stuttering and an MP crash that brought the TV service on the TV server down as well, in short havoc. I need to look into that more.
    UPDATE: This seems to have been a glitch. It looks like the problem is solved on both clients now.

    The AVI CCC 10.3 package does include bloat ware but not the codecs, they have to be downloaded and installed separately.

    VdR
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!