MP freezes every 15 sek

Discussion in 'General Support' started by karlake, June 10, 2009.

  1. karlake

    karlake Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 1, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Borås
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    TV-Server Version: N/A
    MediaPortal Version: 1.0.2
    MediaPortal Skin: StreamedMP
    Windows Version: Vista Home Basic
    CPU Type: Intel c2d
    HDD: SG Bar 120GB SATA
    Memory: 2 GB
    Motherboard: A-Open Mini-XC 645D (Intel)
    Video Card: Inbuilt Intel GMA
    Video Card Driver:
    Sound Card: Realtek AC97
    Sound Card AC3: Realtek AC97
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card:
    1. TV Card Type:
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: MPV
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    h.264 Video Codec: PowerDVD HD codec
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: AHANIX HTPC-CHASSI MCE601S-A SILVER
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote: MICROSOFT REMOTE MCE for Vista
    TV: BenQ 24" HD 1080P
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI


    Have a stange problem with a fresh installation on Vista Home Basic

    after installing MP 1.0.2 (TV-client) and Streamed MP I get a strange bug. Every 15sek GUI freezes för about 5sek.
    It happens both in GUI and config program. It does not effect playing of media, only GUI and input from keyboard and remote.
    It does not happen in other software, olly MP.

    Please help me!



    :D
    Karl
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Make sure that TV server connection is working and the service is running.
     
  4. karlake

    karlake Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 1, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Borås
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    not in use, for the moment

    is it important to disable tv plugin when not in use?
     
  5. SpudR
    • Team MediaPortal

    SpudR Documentation Group

    Joined:
    July 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,608
    Likes Received:
    449
    Occupation:
    CTO, MD
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +678 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Start the service - job done...
     
  6. karlake

    karlake Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 1, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Borås
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Sorry, but,,,

    I have no tv server to connect to,,,, and I do not want any tv service at the moment.
    I've even disabled the tv plugin but that did not help.

    It can't have anything to do with tv service. You should be able to rub MP without,right?
     
  7. SpudR
    • Team MediaPortal

    SpudR Documentation Group

    Joined:
    July 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,608
    Likes Received:
    449
    Occupation:
    CTO, MD
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +678 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    You have the answer - either do it or don't.
    Start the TVServer service...!
    :mad:
     
  8. karlake

    karlake Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 1, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Borås
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Please explain!

    Is there a bug that gives this result if you try to install a client, TVE2 or no-tv setup of MP
    I have no tvcard in this machine, and no tvserver to connect to.
    It's only for music/movies/tvseries

    :D
    Karl
     
  9. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    Is TVServer installed?
    Then you have 3 options:
    - Run TVServer Config that will result in the Service starting up (as explained)
    - Uninstall TVServer
    - Disable the MP client plugin

    If not needed at all, I would recommend option 2.
     
  10. karlake

    karlake Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 1, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Borås
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    :D for your respons

    But as I said, I installed it as Client and have disabled TV plugin
    The problem is not freezes in TV but in all other MP GUI and config
    installed Lyrics plugin and when you config it and create lyricsDB,
    you can see the numbers of songs processed. I see clearly that
    it freezes every 10-15 sec for about 5 sec,,, same as in MP GUI
    No other software in this box have a problem with this,,,
    Can it be something do do with .net?

    :D
    Karl

    PS
    No freezes when playing music, video or online streams or rather,, no freeze in mediaplay, gui still freezes

    Aha!!!

    it installes TVServer even if I choose "Client" in instattation.
    After remove, the problem went away.

    What is the diffence between stan-alone and client in installation?
     
  11. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Logs please, we need to see why this is happening, if only MP being used with no powerscheduler\tv enabled.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!