MP is downloading album art automaticly , how do i stop it.

Discussion in 'General Support' started by ohdarklord, September 14, 2006.

  1. ohdarklord

    ohdarklord Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 31, 2005
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Scotland Scotland
    Every time i add new mp3s to my media center i allways add artist art and album art (callling the files folder.jpg and puting them in the correct folders)

    Since the new music engine ive noticed that mp has been downloading album art automaticly and using it instead of my files.

    So far its choosen some really bad album art some has price stickers on it and one had a big fold in the middle(like it was folded in half then scanned in)

    Is there any way I turn this off

    PS i dont know if this is part of the new music engine or not its juat thats when i noticed it.




    MediaPortal Version: newest svn every week
    Windows Version: windows xp pro
    CPU Type: Athlon XP +2000
    HDD: Seagate 160GB
    Memory: 512MB DDR ram
    Motherboard: Flex atx board
    Motherboard Chipset:
    Motherboard Bios:
    Video Card: Geforce Mx 440
    Video Card Driver:
    Sound Card: Inergrated audio
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: Compro t200
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card: Kworld u300
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec:
    MPEG2 Audio Codec:
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: CuStOm CaSe
    Cooling:
    Power Supply: Matx psu
    Remote: Compro Remote
    TV: panisonic 21" crt
    TV - HTPC Connection: Composite
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. tomtom21000
    • Premium Supporter

    tomtom21000 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +64 / 0
    Maybe it is not a question of turn on/off but sequence: first folder.jpg, if = none, than download.

    But this may need more thought.

    i have begun to include album art in the mp3 tags, so this is a third option.

    There is another problem to think about. a folder.jpg is good for an album folder.
    But I have also a folder called "Charts". On rescan mp always adds one folder.jpg and shows this wrong image for all songs that have no embedded album art tag.
    thats a little annoyance. But also you canĀ“t work with folder.jpg if you have a similar mixed folder.

    tomtom
     
  4. rtv
    • Premium Supporter

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    well as of yesterday there is an option to turn off the internet lookups.

    I've also changed the preference order to look for .png first - as most likely this will be the "better" thumbs...
     
  5. CHli

    CHli Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    14
    Occupation:
    Embedded Software Engineer
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Thanks rtv, it works great for me now :)
     
  6. routerunner

    routerunner Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 27, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Well it doesn't really....

    I've been fighting with this for days....I have all my music collection in a server organized the way I want it /Artist/Album name/tracks (where tracks have number - Title), every folder has cover arts via thumbnails.

    When I use Share view after a while the track names changes to unknown - song name, the cover art are not updated correctly, not matter if you disable all the dynamic update flags or delete the thumb cache or the music database DB3 files.

    I originally ripped all my CD music collection as WAV files (I'm an audiophile and can't compromise quality for space) onto a server using WMP11, filling all the relevant information when missing and downloading/scanning from leaflet all the original cover arts, a massive job I tell you. Then I discovered MP, what a great piece of software, (I'm a software engineer myself and I know all the efforts involved to make something like that), so abandoned WMP11 straight away and decided to build an HTPC with MP.
     
  7. rtv
    • Premium Supporter

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    This is totally unrelated - but a clear sign that your track's tags are not tagged correctly.
    MP cannot work at it's full potential without database but you want to deactivate the "autoadd tracks to database" setting + never scan the collection.
     
  8. routerunner

    routerunner Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 27, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    many thanks for the prompt reply...

    I've just done what you said, also cleared the database/thumbs file before launching MP and now is better ;-)

    Regarding the Cover Art I've just noticed that it doesn't pick up the right one correctly, for example I've got a folder like this:

    Adiemus/Cantata Mundi
    |
    |> /Songs of Sanctuary

    The filmstrip layout shows for "Songs of Sanctuary" the cover art related to "Canta Mundi" and even clearing the thumb cache still generates the small/large icon for "Cantata Mundi" but not for "Song of Sanctuary"
     
  9. rtv
    • Premium Supporter

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    All thumbs will only work correctly if MP is used with tags and database so performance can be kept (otherwhise it would have to contact the music shares constantly).

    For the caching - did you uncheck configuration->general->thumbs->"create folder cache on demand"?
     
  10. routerunner

    routerunner Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 27, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hi,

    I've managed to make it working in the end ;-)

    When you've got time, can you please explain what the following tick box in Music->Music Database does?:

    - Treat track in an individual folder as an album
    - Use folder.jpg to create thumbnail (which thumbnails?)

    The reason I ask is because it looks like the problems I had was trying to use these two.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!