MP starts playing timeshift file from last viewed channel, when changing channel

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by hjalleballe, November 10, 2008.

  1. hjalleballe

    hjalleballe Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I have tried MP 1.0 RC2 and RC3 and have a problem. Everytime i try to change channel, from the guide, the channellist or by using the channel up, down buttons, MP starts to play the previously viewed channels timeshift file from the beginning instead? Some times its possible to change channel, but most often it just jumps to the beginning of the previous timeshift file? I have tried using ramdisk. Also, it seems like when I eventually manage to change channel more times then i set maximum timeshift files for, the screen just turn blank. Any ideas anyone?

    MP server and client Running on Vista 32
    GIGABYTE MA78GM-S2H, with integrated ATI HD 3200
    Athlon dual core 4850e 2.50 Ghz
    4 Gb 6400 memory
    FloppyDTV DVB-C



    :D for any help
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. globaldonkey
    • Premium Supporter

    globaldonkey MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 23, 2007
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    44
    Ratings:
    +51 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    Sounds like your ramdisk is filling up. Have you tweakked the settings for the number of files / size of files in the timeshift settings of TV Server?
     
  4. hjalleballe

    hjalleballe Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I've tried different settings for this and using the HDD for timeshifting as well with very generous file amount settings, this seems to correct the blank screen problem. (Why doesnt it clear up old timeshift files to release ramdisk space automaticly btw?) But the main issue is still the changing channels problem. This happens all the time, on a fresh reeboot, restart etc. It just jumps back to the start of last timeshift file when trying to change channel. ... =P

    Any help appreciated. Is this a hardware related bug maybe?
     
  5. robyf
    • Team MediaPortal

    robyf Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    139
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Bolzano
    Ratings:
    +141 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    What codec do you use for video and audio? Do you use reclock?
     
  6. hjalleballe

    hjalleballe Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    No, I tried e few codecs, dont know all but at least I've tried ffdshow, the latest, and also microsoft mpeg decoder. I have the same problem with every codec.
     
  7. hjalleballe

    hjalleballe Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Problem solved!

    I simply removed all postproccesing in tv settings on the mediaportal client, and voila!
    So I guess no postprocessing for me, but dont really need that anyway.

    Thx for help anyway!
     

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!