[Approved] - MPC Subtitle position adjustment

Discussion in 'Archive' started by -Manfred-, February 12, 2010.

  1. -Manfred-
    • Premium Supporter

    -Manfred- Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    341
    Ratings:
    +350 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    This patch will enable subtitles to be adjusted to picture more accurately than now possible with one pixel resolution. Enjoy.


     
    • Like Like x 6
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. pixies

    pixies New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Israel Israel
    Thanks. This seems like a very useful feature.
    Is it going to be integrated in one of the next MP releases?
     
  4. Seidelin
    • Premium Supporter

    Seidelin Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    327
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Location:
    Kgs. Lyngby
    Ratings:
    +328 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    You can already adjust subtitle position with MPC subtitle engine (but with less resolution, I guess). Just assign some keys to add/subtract delay on your remote, and configure the step size in subtitle configuration under my videos. I prefer large step sizes (1-2 seconds, as that is good enough resolution for me, and requires fewer keypresses to make larger adjustments.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. pixies

    pixies New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Israel Israel
    Thanks, I didn't know about that. I'll give it a try.

    Seidlin, just to clarify - did you write about vertical positioning of the subtitles on the screen, or about adjusting subtitles delay?
    I was referring to vertical positioning on the screen.
     
  6. Seeco

    Seeco Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 15, 2007
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Linköping
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Which is it that this patch does? :) Does it adjust vertical subtitle position on the screen, or subtitle delay? I am very interested in the former!
     
  7. Seidelin
    • Premium Supporter

    Seidelin Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    327
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Location:
    Kgs. Lyngby
    Ratings:
    +328 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    The patch in this thread does what you want. What I talked about is the delay (which has nothing to do with this thread, sorry for not reading properly) :)
     
  8. vuego
    • Team MediaPortal

    vuego Documentation Group

    Joined:
    August 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    662
    Occupation:
    Alchemist, Astrobiologist, Exotic dancer
    Location:
    Göteborg
    Ratings:
    +870 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Is it also possible to position the subtitles relative to video aspect ratio? I'd like different positions depending on 16:9 or 2.40:1. The built-in MPC-HC engine has support for it today but unfortunately distorts the aspect ratio of the font.
     
  9. 1stdead

    1stdead Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +139 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
  10. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
  11. 1stdead

    1stdead Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +139 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi -Manfred-

    Ok, someone gave me the dll's. I made some testing. :)
    Playing 720p i had to adjust subtitles with 100 and one line was in the black area and one above. 100 is the limit for adjusting, wouldn't it be great to have both in the black area?
    Also with same setting fullscreen(videos filling the whole high) videos only show the first line and second one is under the picture - not to be seen.

    So I think this patch should take viewmode or high of video picture except black bars in consideration.

    I've attached two screenshots which should explaint what i'm explaning above.
    (the screenshot with friends actually have two lines)

    Note: Intelligent Frame Correction was disabled otherwise Friends would have filled the whole screen, but no difference to subtitle.

    Thanks :)


    (tourettes: I cannot compile MediaPortal myself as this requires professional edition of visual due to multiple something.... Hard to give feedback.... if that's "technical talk")
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!