Ongoing My new HTPC - Some questions... (1 Viewer)

Wonderm00n

Portal Pro
September 12, 2007
Seixal, "a margem certa"
Home Country
Portugal Portugal
Hi there,

First of all, congrats to all the MediaPortal developers, as I find this aplication awesome!

This weekend I'll build my HTPC, based on the hardware I've got on my current PC, as I'm going to build a new one. I'm going to list the specifications and then ask some questions. Please note that I'm an HTPC newbie and this will be my very first project.

• CASE (AND REMOTE AND VFD): 3RSYSTEM MSTATION HT-1100 (http://www.3rsys.com/english/products/view.asp?navi=case&idx_num=48)
  • MOTHERBOARD: ASUS P4-P800-E
  • CPU: Intel P4 3.0
  • RAM:4x512Mb (dual channel) = 2Gb
  • VIDEO: GeForce 7300GT 512MB (Connected via VGA to a 37'' HD-Ready LG LCD)
  • AUDIO: onBoard Realtek (Connected via optical SPDIF to a 6.1 Harman Kardon AVR-140 + 6.1 JBL Speakers)
  • HDD1: 80Gb IDE (C: 40Gb for Windows + other stuff, D: 40Gb for MediaPortal)
  • HDD2: 120Gb SATA I (All space dedicated to TV recording and timeshift)
  • CAPTURE: Hauppauge WINTV-PVR-500MCE (dual tunner getting signal from Cable, not DVB)
  • OPTICAL: LG 16x IDE DVD+/-RW

So here go my questions:
  • Do you think this configuration will give me a smooth MediaCenter experience?
  • From your experience, will HDD space be enough? And is it well divided? Please note that I don't plan to have any media (videos, pictures, music, ...) files on this machine. Everything will be read from a network share over ethernet on a huge storage space on my other PC.
  • Will I loose any quality on TV as compared if the cable was directly connected to the TV?
  • With this specs, do you guys think that I can later have a HD-DVD or BlueRay drive and have a smooth playback?
  • If I have a DVB-S card configured in ProgDVB, is there anyway to "integrate" this with MediaPortal? Basicaly I wanted ProgDVB to control the card, but be able to watch the channels on MediaPortal...