My solution for MAME

Discussion in 'My Emulators' started by technick, July 27, 2010.

  1. technick

    technick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    -/-


     
    Last edited: January 15, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Atreides

    Atreides Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 28, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hey,
    I find this interesting. I was wondering if you could elaborate about this config. do I just need to add MAME 32 in the proper directory and I am good to go, or do I need something with xarcade? Also, can this gather the information and screen shot for mame? I appreciate your help.
     
  4. technick

    technick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    -/-
     
    Last edited: January 15, 2013
  5. Atreides

    Atreides Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 28, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I think I get this, I might try it out later, but what your saying is that you are launching a different front end to look at and launch all your Mame games? If I dont have this right then let me know but this is interesting. I have just been painstakingly adding Mame games to myemulators and it takes forever.
     
  6. technick

    technick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    -/-
     
    Last edited: January 15, 2013
  7. prei
    • Premium Supporter

    prei MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Technick,

    I like your idea, so I went and checked out advmenu. I can't find anyway iof lauching advmenu in full screen mode. Were you able to run it it full screen? My monitor resolution si 1920 X 1200. Can that be the issue?

    Appreciate your help,
    Pete
     
  8. u095538
    • Premium Supporter

    u095538 MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 18, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Hi Technick. Thanks for sharing this! I'm using it (great advmenu configuration for the X-Arcade joysticks!) But when I launch I get the following error:

    "Error opening the file 'catver.ini'

    Any ideas? I'm guessing it has something to do with the categories you've setup (sport / fighting / etc..)

    EDIT: Scratch that. I fixed it. It was referencing your categories within "advmenu.rc". Not just your personal categories, but also there was mention of some of your roms. I deleted all personal information and am just using your layout sceme in the .rc. Again, thank you verymuch for this :) I didn't even know advmenu existed before reading your post. It's obviously what all those mame-cabinets boot into. Again, thank you. Oh! and just in case you didn't get it. Thanks again.
     
  9. technick

    technick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Happy for you ;-) I use advmenu / advmame since a long time because it run in my mame cab ! Using mame on a TV is... different.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!