My TV randomly loses signal - 'No Signal Detected'

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Teaboy, December 10, 2005.

  1. Teaboy

    Teaboy Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Area: Media Portal Program
    MP Version: 0.2.0.0 RC1 (CVS - mediaportal-cvs-12-09-2005--23-04.rar)
    Skin: MCE
    Windows Version: Windows XP Pro SP2
    CPU Type: Intel P4-M 2.8 (At 1.6GHz - locked at 12x)
    Memory: 512MB PC133
    Motherboard Chipset: SiS
    Video Card: Asus ATI 9250
    Video Card Driver: Latest Catalyst
    Video Card Resolution: 800x600
    Video Render Type: VMR9
    Video Codec Type & Version: InterVideo Non-CSS for Hauppauge
    Audio Codec Type & Version: InterVideo Non-CSS for Hauppauge
    TV Card: Hauppauge PVR II (I think it's the same as a 250 - I need to use the 250 driver for it to work)
    TV Card Type: hardware
    TV Card Driver: Latest 250 driver.

    Synopsis: Whenever I'm watching live TV after 5 minutes or so the TV randomly loses signal even though the quality bar shows I have full signal. It has only started happening in the last few days, but because I'm continuously updating to the latest CVS version I'm not sure if something was broken in the code or if there's something wrong with my hardware.



    Screenshot: http://www.ncclan.co.uk/temp/mpbug.jpg
    Log: http://www.ncclan.co.uk/temp/log.zip
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Brocklander
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brocklander Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Area: TV
    MP Version: 0.2.0.0 RC1 (cvs-11-30-2005--19-18, can't remember whether it has happened with the latest?)
    Skin: MCE
    Windows Version: Windows XP Home SP2
    CPU Type: Athlon 64 3200+
    Memory: 1GB DDR400
    Motherboard Chipset: Shuttle
    Video Card: GeForce 6600GT
    Video Card Driver: 78.01
    Video Card Resolution: 1024x768 at the moment
    Video Render Type: VMR9
    Video Codec Type & Version: Latest Nvidia
    Audio Codec Type & Version: Latest Nvidia
    TV Card: Hauppauge 500MCE, aerial input
    TV Card Type: Hardware
    TV Card Driver: Latest

    Exactly the same problem here, has happened a couple of times about 15 minutes in to a recording, but can occur randomly too. If you wait a little bit and timeshift ahead then it will continue to play, the signal is only lost for a few seconds. It'll stop playback in MP, but playback in Media Player 10 just gives static and it keeps playing. Happens with just timeshifting enabled as well as a scheduled record.
     
  4. Teaboy

    Teaboy Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I noticed that when I turned off timeshifting it seemed to help. But my scheduled recordings are due soon! :(
     
  5. Brocklander
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brocklander Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I've recorded hours and hours of tv over the last two days and haven't had the problem... I've just been using MP for recording, then watching it later in WMP10. Argh. :oops:
     
  6. jayrock
    • Premium Supporter

    jayrock MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 19, 2005
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    BN
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Does this mean there's no solution yet?

    /jayrock
     
  7. Brocklander
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brocklander Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    It means that I haven't had the problem again, and I feel a bit :oops: for waving it about. Like I said though, it may not be happening because I'm not actually watching TV while recording in MP, but just recording and watching in WMP later.
     
  8. jayrock
    • Premium Supporter

    jayrock MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 19, 2005
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    BN
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    If that makes you feel better I have the same symptoms, too. Nothing to be embaressed about. The way you handle it is what I would call a workaround.... I will continue searching for a solution...

    /jayrock
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!