Codecs Need new codecs (1 Viewer)

zethaaron

Portal Member
June 29, 2010
Home Country
Canada Canada
Hi, I'm very new to Media Portal, and would very much appreciate some help.
You see, the majoraty of the videos I have in Media Portal, I ripped myself, and are in AVI format with XVID or DVIX codecs, I need as many new codecs as possible, I'd really like to have Media Portal setup just like VLC, in the sense that it'll play anything that comes it's way. I've already tried the Klite codec pack, didn't help. So please, if you have download links for as many codecs as possible and instructions on how to install, or a way of taking the codecs from VLC so that Media Portal can play anything it can, help would be great.
Thanks.

zethaaron

Portal Member
June 29, 2010
Home Country
Canada Canada
Thanks, I'm on a seperate computer from the one installed now, I'll reply in a bit when I've tried it.

Paranoid Delusion

Moderation Manager
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 13, 2005
    Cheshire
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I need as many new codecs as possible,

Nope wrong, you need the relevant codecs to play your files, without breaking anything in windows.

i would advise running filmerit (signature) to make sure nothing is already broken.

zethaaron

Portal Member
    June 29, 2010
    Home Country
    Canada Canada
    I need as many new codecs as possible,

Nope wrong, you need the relevant codecs to play your files, without breaking anything in windows.

i would advise running filmerit (signature) to make sure nothing is already broken.

First of all, I DO need as many as possible, I like knowing that whatever I get can work , second of all, breaking windows? Gimme a break, you need to be more specific.

Sosh, it didn't really help, although I realized I don't have the newest MediaPortal, I'm uninstalling it, installing the newest and trying again.

Valharion

Portal Member
    June 16, 2010
    Auckland
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand