Completed NEW HTPC Build, EWSDN 220B Case. (1 Viewer)

Plasma Dan

Portal Member
April 7, 2009
Bolton
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hey people! Only just signed up to the forum, I thought I'd add my contribution.

I have a lot of experience building PCs, infact; it's what I do.

I recently decided I wanted a cinema. So I surfed & surfed things from all across the internet :rolleyes:

I eventually bought an Optoma HD700x projector :) and a Sony ST-DG820 7.1 Amplifier to run it :cool:

Then there's the XBOX 360 :D, got the Elite this time, maybee this one won't burn out :p

And finally, the heart of the whole cinema; a HTPC...

I have a dual core AMD in my old HTPC, running @ 2.8GHz. That used to crash out on me too often, I needed something a little more powerful. So I went for a Phenom II Quad @ 2.8GHz :D ;)

The motherboard I chose was the ASUS M3N78-VM, I have used these before in HTPCs, I know how good they are. The main reason I used it however, is for the native HDMI output. I needed it to have Dolby HD surround sound, and this board does. Although; it was a pain to set-up, and required a BIOS update.

The case I chose for this build is the special part ;) It is made by a company called EWSDN in Taiwan. The HTPC-220B has a brushed alloy front bezel & a very sweet looking VFD by iMON. It doesn't have very good cooling properties, although with my Mini Ninja CPU cooler, it should't be too much of a problem :)

Here are the specs:

• EWSDN HTPC-220B case.
  • Asus M3N78-VM motherboard.
  • Chipset: GeForce 8200
  • AMD Phenom™ II X4 920, 2.8GHz Quad Core 125W CPU
  • Scythe Mini Ninja Heatpipe fanless CPU Cooler
  • 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair TwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-8500 (1066MHz)
  • 2 x 1TB (2000 GB) Samsung Spinpoint F1, SATA 300, Ecogreen, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache, NCQ
  • LG Blu-ray / HD-DVD ROM, DL DVD+/-RW Drive with Lightscribe
  • Compro Videomate T220 Tuner card
  • 3 x Noctua 800RPM 80mm cooling fans (practically SILENT)