Nice-to-haves (1 Viewer)

IkeV70

Portal Pro
April 28, 2008
Home Country
Netherlands Netherlands
I've been working with MP for a few months now. Especially since RC4 it's running nice and stable. I'm therefore now concentrating on finetuning the smaller details. There are a number of items that I think would be useful modifications and additions to MP. (Currently I'm adding these things myself in the code, but everytime a new official version is released I need to redo all my programming in the latest files)

for skinning / VFD display:
Conditional display of skin elements: Many conditions seem partially or not at all implemented, eg #player.isrecording always returns false ?

New conditional codes:
- #player.IsTV
- #player.IsMusic
- #player.IsVideo
- etc.
useful for displaying apropriate controls.

#DVD.CurrentChapter (there's no way to display the current chapter in my VFD/LCD display)
#DVD.TotalNumberOfChapters

#selecteditem, #selecteditem2 and #highlightedbutton are too limited and not consistent. There should be a single code that accurately contains the current selected text, regardless whether it's a list, a dialog, a button, etc. Furhtermore I want to be able to display more context-aware details if available, e.g. if the selected item is a song then I would like to display album, year, artist, etc. So something like #selecteditem.artist, #selecteditem.title.

Conditions that test the currently selected item:
- #selecteditem.IsSong
- #selecteditem.IsAlbum

Why are the size and position of the teletext screen in fullscreen teletext (myfsteletext.xml) ignored? I'd like the teletext to be displayed only on the right half of my wide-screen tv, but the code will always use 80% of the available screen.

Unlimited hierarchical grouping of controls. Allow controls of any type to be added as children to other controls. They can inherit there parent's position and visibility conditions.