1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[PATCH] Setting For MCE Services Stop

Discussion in 'General Development (no feature request here!)' started by iosub, March 26, 2008.

  1. iosub

    iosub Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 26, 2006
    Messages:
    573
    Occupation:
    Computer Bussines
    Location:
    San Sebastian
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    HI!

    I have add a setting and also a new option on the application tab of SetupTV.exe to allow to Stop or not Stop MCE Service
    The new value is "StopMCEservices" default "yes"

    I have attach a JPG with a screenshoot and also the Diff file

    Can any of the developers check and add this to next SVN version?





    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

    • settings.jpg
      settings.jpg
      File size:
      56.7 KB
      Uploaded:
      March 26, 2008
      Views:
      1,818
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Sorry to sound thick (accused many times, lucky thick skinned :D)

    What is the particular advantage of this, if using mce to do the recordings, surely you would not have TVServer or its plugin installed, so you could read\write dvr-ms files anyway.

    What are the real benefits to anyone wishing to use this, is it designed for old recording access only, or mainly to use the mce TVEngine for recording reliability etc.

    Just trying to get your exact thoughts, could well be used to promote your idea's for other user's, it's just i'm a little baffled as surely its easier to change the format of the file, so it may be used by a variety of applications.

    Thanks for any answer, hope to be enlightened.

    Regards
     
  4. iosub

    iosub Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 26, 2006
    Messages:
    573
    Occupation:
    Computer Bussines
    Location:
    San Sebastian
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    Jajjajaja, I understand you..

    Ok this is my setup

    I have 2 computers (1 is client and also TvServer) and another Just MpClient.

    On both computer I have MCE, and I also use the MCE for recording, Why?? Because the Schedule.. MP schedule is not good for me, In spain the showtimes is changed more that My Girlfriends changes their "Tampax" jajaja, so with the TvServer Schedule I can not trust if my tvSeries are recorded.. (Just because they change from 10pm to 11Pm) or they change a day of the show.. That's why I use many times MCE to record.. Also I need TVServer for recording DVB-S, that MCE does not work with

    The problem is That I prefer to use MP for Playing, because a prefer this product.. SO if I let MP to stops MCE services then NO SHOWS ARE RECORDED... But I need TVserver for My DVB-S DVB-C tuners... SO I need both MCE and TvServer.

    SO Until MP schedule is not as good as MCE.. I will keep MCE just as recorder engine..(For DVB-T) and MP for the rest of Tunners

    That's why..
     
  5. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Good enough reason :)
     
  6. iosub

    iosub Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 26, 2006
    Messages:
    573
    Occupation:
    Computer Bussines
    Location:
    San Sebastian
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    why because my girlfriends "tampax" or because TvServer schedule?? jajajajajjajajaja

    Iosu
     
  7. Graememac

    Graememac Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi,
    I also want to be able to do this.
    I have downloaded the zip file, but as I'm new to all this, I need some instructiions on how to install the patch.

    Can you help me please.
     
  8. fatt_fill
    • Premium Supporter

    fatt_fill MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 31, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi iosub. I'm fairly new to MP but have a similar setup to you it would seem and need MP to leave MCE untouched as like you my TV server components are running elsewhere so a conflict shouldn't exist?! I see on this post you attach a patch - is it possible to install patches and if so how - having the setting in the config would be very useful - even better would be having this in the svn (did you get anywhere with this battle?) - I'm running RC2 and the latest svn to date for both tv server and media portal and I can't see the option so I assume it's not yet possible off the shelf?

    Cheers
    Phil
     
  9. Trevor Payne

    Trevor Payne New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Hi guys. New to MP, installed yesterday. Disabled WMC (Win 7 64). Still want to use WMC for many previous recorded TV files. Is this patch mentioned above still available? Not showing up with any of the links above? JPG file above shows what the result looks like? But can't seem to locate the patch?
    Kind regards Trevor
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!