Picture size on my television set: Too small!

Discussion in 'General Support' started by MungoBBQ, December 19, 2005.

  1. MungoBBQ

    MungoBBQ Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 21, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Area: Media Portal Program
    MediaPortal Version: 0.2.0.0 RC1 (2005-09-01)
    MediaPortal Skin: BlueTwo
    Windows Version: Windows XP (SP2)
    .NET CLR Version: 1.1.4322
    DirectX Version: 4.09.00.0904 (9.0c)
    Audio Codec: InterVideo Audio Decoder
    Video Codec: InterVideo Video Decoder
    CPU Type: Intel Celeron - 2.80GHz
    Memory: 446 MB
    Motherboard: FT62 (Shuttle Inc)
    TV Card Model: Hauppauge PVR500MCE (b)
    TV Card Type: Hardware
    TV Card Driver: -
    Video Card Model: Radeon 9100 Igp (64 MB)
    Video Card Driver: -
    Video Card Resolution: 720x576
    Video Render Type: VMR9
    Audio Card Model: Realtek AC'97 Audio
    Audio Card Driver: -
    Synopsis::

    Hello,

    I have a problem - I can't seem to get my picture to fill the entire screen on my television set. Right now I've scaled it to max using the controls in Windows, but it still has large black borders on all sides.



    If I enable overscan, I lose way too much instead, which makes it so I can't see the bottom text on subtitled TV!

    Does anybody know of a way to increase my picture size?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. knutinh

    knutinh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 4, 2005
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    In my nvidia drivers I can zoom and position the picture to get proper overscan. I can also choose an option called "custom timings" so that the desktop mimics the PAL resolution/refreshrate.

    There is a utility for doing these things on any card. I think its called power strip.

    Knut
     
  4. MungoBBQ

    MungoBBQ Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 21, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for your reply.

    I've already got the resolution set to PAL standard. Tried powerstrip, but can't find a timing that works with my TV! As soon as I touch the timings, the screen starts rolling...?
     
  5. Whiskers

    Whiskers Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 19, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    Where are you located? Most countries use NTSC, the USA is one of them
     
  6. MungoBBQ

    MungoBBQ Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 21, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Indeed. Although here in Sweden we use PAL.
     
  7. Florp

    Florp Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Have you tried different resolutions (without changing the scan frequencies)?

    Not sure about PAL, but in NTSC, overscan is usually around 700-720 pixels wide; maybe somewhere in-between would work for you.
     
  8. wiggums

    wiggums Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ahhh someone with the same problem as me!
    I personally think its the ATI card I have. It seems to be detecting the TV screen and screwing up the size.
    If I use a LCD as the Primary and the TV as a clone then the screen size is OK. But I dont want an LCD connected up permanently. I have tried all sorts of options and resolutions but nothing seems to work except for this.....
    I am in Australia and also use PAL so maybe this is adding to the issue???
    Let me know if you sort it out....


    Video Card: ABIT RADEON ATI RX600
     
  9. Roberdin

    Roberdin Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 26, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!