Please help the Newbie (1 Viewer)

BG008

October 26, 2010
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I'm looking to build a media PC to compliment my HD movie collection, brand new 1080p Plasma TV, and sound system for my house. Other than my using the PC my roommate in college built, who has done three different builds, I'm new to the game. Meaning, I need as much help as possible.

I really just need it to play 1080p movies with absolutely no problem. I just want to be able to watch the movies I have the way they were meant to be watched.

Things I already have:
Three (3) external hard drives
My TV
And I'll probably go with this case: Newegg.com - Antec Three Hundred Illusion Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

I'm not looking to get extravagant with this. Would like to keep it in the $300 - $350 range is possible? (which I'm told it is)

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

geov

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • November 1, 2006
    Cape Town
    Home Country
    South Africa South Africa
    If you only want to watch movies in HD why don't you just invest in a HD Media-Player that accepts external hard-drives?

BG008

October 26, 2010
    Home Country
    Would I have the ability to access Hulu and Youtube? Do these HD Media centers access the internet so I can download my movies to the hard drives still?

If so, which would you suggest?

umlaut

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 20, 2008
    Kumla
    Home Country
    Sweden Sweden
    If you want to paint yourself into a corner and purchase a mediacenter that just plays your movies, by all means do that.
    But if you want something a bit more versatile, no a lot more versatile then it is in fact MediaPortal you want.

Mediaportal can be as little and as much as you want.

Moving pictures is a beautiful plugin that would show your movie collection the way it should.
    If you have TV shows as well, the MP-tvseries plugin is a must.