Plugin Request...... (1 Viewer)

Bleazle

Portal Pro
July 14, 2007
Pukekohe
Home Country
New Zealand New Zealand
Hi All

Firstly let me say, I love MediaPortal but as with anything there's always room for improvement :) I don't know about anyone else but to me the way images (pictures/cd & dvd covers etc) are shown in MediaPortal seems a bit "old fashioned" - the icon and filmstrip views are just a bit "clunky" feeling especially when you compare it to say an iPhone for example. I'd love to be able to see the same sort of smooth "zooming" around effects in MediaPortal.

To see an example of what I'd like to see in MediaPortal check out this Firefox plugin: Cooliris | Discover More . I use it all the time and it's great - very slick and a real time saver.

I'm no plugin developer so I've got no idea if a plugin like this could be developed for MediaPortal but I thought I'd put it out there so that those of you that know about this kind of stuff could take a look and see what you think.

Cheers

Bleazle

kyleh0000

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 28, 2009
    Home Country
    hmmm that cooliris looks very interesting, only thing i dont like about it for a media center is it would be hard to develop this to be using only with a remote

but it does look very cool

i have never really used the picture view component of media portal but i have been thinking about it for a while if it looked like that i would definitely set it up

Bleazle

Portal Pro
    July 14, 2007
    Pukekohe
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    ...it would be hard to develop this to be using only with a remote...

... that's what I thought too but I've just installed it on my HTPC and using the UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT arrows it works OK. I think if some other buttons (like channel up/down) etc were used as well you could make a plugin like this "useable" within MP. But as I said above I REALLY don't know about this stuff.