Possible to stream tv to ipad? What hardware needed? (1 Viewer)

mightymauz

Portal Member
September 7, 2011
Home Country
Netherlands Netherlands
Hi guys, I am new to MP and I would like to ask for some advice. I would like to ask for if my wishes are possible and to ask for a hardware advice.

I would like to use MP to make myself mobile and have the ability to view and record tv programs on the road. Because I am from Europe, where channels are restricted by borders, I would like to be able to view my tv while I am abroad.
For that purpose I would like to install a HTPC at my home that would be able to stream tv to my ipad and laptop over the internet. And after reading I decided to go for MediaPortal with IPimp.

I do not care so much for the movies and tv series capabilities as I can take them with me anyway. TV streaming and timeshifting is my main concern. And the tv card is analog and I also have DVB-T for a better cleaner quality.

As for the second question, I have currently an old HTPC which needs a serious upgrade, as it would never be able to convert to an ipad compatible format on a decent speed. I can get an Athlon X2 4400 with 2 gig of RAM, which looks good for the job to me. But I was wondering if I can accelerate the video encoding with a videocard. Does mediaportal/ipimp support encoding with CUDA (NVidia) or an ATi alternative?

And I also have a NAS, which I can fully access through the internet. Can I somehow use it in combination with MP? I can imagine something like storing the tv-recordings there.

So
- Is it possible to stream to ipad over the internet?
- Is it possible to set up recordings remotely on an ipad?
- What kind of hardware is needed? Is the stuff I have in mind good enough?
- Does MP/IPimp support CUDA or other hardware acceleration?

mightymauz

Portal Member
September 7, 2011
Home Country
Netherlands Netherlands