press record during a show

Discussion in 'improvement suggestions' started by steve walton, October 9, 2008.

  1. steve walton

    steve walton New Member

    Joined:
    October 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Just a question about pressing record during a show.
    Lets say ive been watching a show from the beginning and half way through i decide its good and want:confused: to keep it.
    If i press record in the middle of the show will it save it from the start of the show ( remember ive been watching from the start ) , as i'm sure mythtv does this?.
    Thank you
    Steve


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    No, unfortunately not. A couple of months ago I asked the same question, but nobody seemed to think it was worth implementing. I don't know if it's possible to rewind the live-tv buffer and record from the start, but don't think so :(
     
  4. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Feature freeze is the reason, especially as this would require some major changes to the way the timeshift works.

    The internal TV engine which records in dvr-ms will do this if timeshifting enabled, Unfortunately TVServer currently does not support this.
     
  5. Seattle

    Seattle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 21, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    :)

    Are there any plans in the near future to implement this?

    Thanks, SEA
     
  6. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,469
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,889 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
  7. rlevis
    • Premium Supporter

    rlevis MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 15, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +22 / 4
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I recently wanted to do the same, as my wife wanted to see the show I was watching, so I copied the files in the time shifting folder to a Video folder and played the files individually. Not ideal as the files are split every 256MB by default.

    So I vote for this option as well, or at least a way to automatically combine the existing time shifting files into one file from the start of viewing, which I think would be reasonably simple to do. This would do in the meantime.
     
  8. gunleik

    gunleik Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    IT Networking and server systems
    Location:
    Skien
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    This works in the classic tv-engine, and I where a big fan of it when I was using it. Bummer to discover that it don't work in tv-server/client solution.
     
  9. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,469
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,889 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    The team is aware of that some users (including me) miss this option. As gunleik states it was possible with TVE2 (what he refers to as "classic TVE").

    It is my understanding that this will be considered for the TVE that will be used for MP2, but still no decision to implement this in TVServer:sorry:
     
  10. mpp_piotrp

    mpp_piotrp New Member

    Joined:
    November 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    I would like to second the request for this feature.:D
     
  11. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    It should be possible to write a small plugin, that enables the user to clone the timeshift-buffer, then merge this into one file and put it in the recordings folder. So go on :D

    Please :cool:
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!