buddman

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 9, 2008
    TX
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    Hey all,

Lately I've been building an arcade box for someone for Xmas and have been trying out various front-ends. I noticed that some of them support intro videos for each ROM, and found it to be very cool. I was wondering if it was possible to somehow add the ability to give ROMs a preview video when you browse over them. Has this ever been talked about or thought of? Is it somehow possible to add to a skin, or does it require work on the plugin itself?

hulkhaugen

Portal Pro
    November 9, 2008
    Arendal
    Home Country
    Norway Norway
    I'm no programmer, but i guess it could be done "easily". But it really depends on what you mean by preview. If it's a pre-recorded in-game video stored as an avi/mkv/wmv, i guess that you could name the video with the same title as rom, except for the file-extension. But as far as i can see, this would have to be coded bye the myemulators coder. you could also probably just launch a .bat file which would start the video, and then launch the game, but then you would have to create a .bat for each rom in addition to actually record the videos of the gameplay.

If you were thinking of a random generated video based on the content of the rom-file, i imagine that it would be extremely hard, if not "impossible" to create.

Don't take my words for anything else than a guess, i have to programming experience, this is just what sounds logic to me. But out of curiosity, why would you launch a video? Most games already has some sort of a intro video...

buddman

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 9, 2008
    TX
    Home Country