Problem using external DVD Player to play mounted iso's

Discussion in 'General Support' started by mmoore99, January 8, 2008.

  1. mmoore99

    mmoore99 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 9, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    TV-Server Version:
    MediaPortal Version: 0.2.3.0
    MediaPortal Skin: Project Mayhem
    Windows Version: Vista Home Premium
    CPU Type: AMD X2 6000+
    HDD: Samsung 500GB
    Memory: 1.5GB
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H
    Motherboard Chipset: ATI
    Motherboard Bios:
    Video Card: ATI X1250 - Integrated
    Video Card Driver: ATI 8.252.0.0
    Sound Card: Onboard RealTek
    Sound Card AC3: Onboard RealTek
    Sound Card Driver: 5.12.1.3630
    1. TV Card: none
    1. TV Card Type: n/a
    1. TV Card Driver: n/a
    2. TV Card: n/a
    2. TV Card Type: n/a
    2. TV Card Driver: n/a
    3. TV Card: n/a
    3. TV Card Type: n/a
    3. TV Card Driver: n/a
    4. TV Card: n/a
    4. TV Card Type: n/a
    4. TV Card Driver: n/a
    MPEG2 Video Codec: various
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Maxtop
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote: USB-UIRT
    TV: Hitatchi S65S500
    TV - HTPC Connection: DVI

    I am having a problem getting MediaPortal to use PowerDVD to play iso image files mounted by Daemon Tools. When I attempt to play an iso MP is using Daemon Tools to successfully mount the image, however MP always uses the internal player to play the iso even though I have "Use external player" checked in the DVD Player configuration settings.

    Can someone give me a suggestion as to what can be done to resolve this?

    Thanks.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Andrew H
    • Premium Supporter

    Andrew H MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    You DO have the link TO your external DVD's .exe listed in the MP Configuration? Does PowerDVD play the mounted files outside of MP? I had issue with getting this handoff working as well and decided the internal player would meet my needs. I only wish there were some way to configure forward skips seperate from backward skip times. (e.g. 3 minutes forward, 30 seconds backward) ...and I know I can press the button repeatedly -- that's what I do!

    Using an external player is confusing for ME when it comes to configuring the remote control, too. Another reason I stuck with the internal.

    WHAT is it you like about PowerDVD that you want to use it instead of the internal?

    Oh, and it may be that you have to pass the file as an argument on that link... I've written elsewhere just how clunky getting the external player is... hopefully we can BOTH learn about HOW to get it working correctly. :)
     
  4. cguy123

    cguy123 New Member

    Joined:
    January 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Business Owner
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Guys,


    For all general intents and purposes, the internal player works well. However, I use theatertek dvd for both video and dvd playback. it's arguably the best out there and the clean user-interface is exactly perfect for htpc use.

    I've also followed the tutorial on the avs forum on setting up ffdshow to re-size and clean up dvd's and video's, now I get upscaled dvd's and divx playback on my 1920x1028 hd monitor. Truly awesome. and it works seamlessly with MP.

    Here's what i did to get it working.

    Make sure you check the box for external player and enter the full path name to the player's exe, then in the command line box, you have to enter in %filename%, you can do this in both the dvd player field, and the movie player field, if you want to use an external player for both.

    Make sure also that you have daemon tools setup correctly under the general tab.

    Good luck!

    - cguy
     
  5. jimz06

    jimz06 Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 24, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Are you able to close out Theatertek and return to the main Mediaportal GUI? When I exit from Theatertek, I obviously return to the Mediaportal application but the video buffer doesn't seem to clear and I'm stuck looking at the Theatertek wallpaper. This forces me to close out of Mediaportal completely (Alt-F4) to clear the TT wallpaper.
     
  6. cguy123

    cguy123 New Member

    Joined:
    January 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Business Owner
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Strange behavior

    Jim,

    That seems like kind of strange behavior to me. Maybe a driver issue. When I exit theatertek (using keyboard shortcut 'x'), I get a clean screen and right back into MP. I've not seen theatertek not clear the screen in the way you describe.

    Hope this helps,

    - Bob
     
  7. jimz06

    jimz06 Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 24, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Bob,
    Thanks for the response. I was beginning to think that it may be a video card driver issue also. I've now noticed the same behavior when I use MP to launch BeyondTV.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!