[confirm] - Problem with Hibernation

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 1 & 2' started by robbo100, April 26, 2010.

  1. robbo100
    • Premium Supporter

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I have a problem with the system stability when it goes into hibernation which is new since my upgrade to RC2.



    The system does not always hibernate correctly and hangs with a frozen MP screen. When I kill the mediaportal.exe process, the system instantly hibernates.

    Since installing RC2, I have had to tick the option within powerscheduler to force hibernate even if process is stopping hibernation, which I have never had to do before with RC1 or earlier SVNs or even 1.0.2. My method of RC2 install was a successful update from RC1 rather than a fresh install.

    Attached are logs for the event, but this is not a reliably repeatable issue, hence not being in debug mode.

    I also seem to have a memory leak on recovery from hibernation (again, not reliably reproduced) which I am yet to get the log files for. When the system recovers from hibernation, the memory allocation for mediaportal.exe seems to keep counting up and up, but I just have a black MP screen. I will post these logs as soon as I can.

    Thanks

    Robbo100


    MediaPortal Version: Beta 1.1.0.0 with RC2
    MediaPortal Skin: X-Factor
    Windows Version: XP SP3
    CPU Type: Intel E7400
    HDD: 700 GB on 2 drives (3 volumes) locally with 1GB FreeNAS
    Memory: 2 GB DDR2
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP41-UD3L
    Video Card: NVIDIA 9400GT
    Video Card Driver: NVIDIA Latest
    Sound Card: Onboard REALTEK
    Sound Card AC3: Coaxial Out
    Sound Card Driver: Latest
    1. TV Card: Pinnacle 300i
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver: Latest
    2. TV Card: Compro Videomate S350
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-S
    2. TV Card Driver: Latest
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: Cyberlink 9
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    h.264 Video Codec: Cyberlink 9
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: UK Freesat
    HTPC Case:
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote: Cyberlink
    TV: Toshiba (not sure of model will check later but 32" and about 3 years old)
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mossym

    mossym Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    have had the black screen on resume as well with the ever increasing memory usage. it's intermittant for me and i have had no problems going into hibernation. i have the option to restart mediaportal on resume turned on as well
     
  4. arion_p
    • Premium Supporter

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Make sure PowerScheduler plugin is enabled on both TV Server and MediaPortal.
    Make sure you have disabled Windows' own power saving features (hibernate/suspend after x minutes of inactivity)
    Never put the system to hibernation/suspend using the power button on the chassis or the remote.

    Also in both MediaPortal and TV Server, in PowerScheduler plugin, enable extensive logging. Then reproduce the issue and post new logs. Note that at midnight all logs are renamed to *.bak and new logs are created. As a result if the hibernation occurs before midnight and resume after, all important information has been moved to the *.bak files, that is why it is important to post full logs. Use "MediaPortal Debug mode" shortcut to collect full logs.
     
  5. robbo100
    • Premium Supporter

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I have the powerscheduler correctly configured, and it worked fine before with RC1.

    I will try to gather the logs, but it is intermittent, so it difficult to get. Especially if it happens while I am at work and someone else does a re-boot.

    Will get back asap.

    robbo100
     
  6. LeJimster

    LeJimster Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 5, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I had my RC2 hang on waking from S3 sleep today. If I turn my HTPC on before my tv it tries to resize itself. It was stuck in the 1/4 screen size and hung. I had to kill the process and relaunch because ALT + F4 wasn't working.

    If it's any relavance it was hung on the TV page (with the list of actions: Active recordings, streams, tv guide etc)
     
  7. kevin939

    kevin939 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 16, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    computer systems architect
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I have a problem with power scheduler too. I only appear to have power scheduler on the tv server its just not there to enable on the client. I have searched and searched for the client plugin but just cannot find it.

    Any help much appreciated.

    I have installed RC2 on a different machine and its got the powerscheduler plugin whereas my primary systems doesnt.

    I tried to copy the processplugin.dll (they were different versions) but starting the configuration tool and accessing the plugins causes error.

    I am really confused - should I reinstall RC2 on my main system and if I do will I lose all the settings?
     
  8. fortuna

    fortuna Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 27, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    same here. when this will happen again. i post some logs.
     
  9. robbo100
    • Premium Supporter

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Attached is another log which includes the .bak files. This should show the hibernation the day before followed by the wake-up the next day.

    On this occasion the computer hibernated, but when it woke up the next day it hung (black screen with the windows bar on the bottom). I killed the Mediaportal.exe process, at which point the computer immediately went back into hibernation.

    As I said in my earlier post, with RC1 I did not need to have the option "force hibernation even if another process is active" but with RC2 I do.

    Logs attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jonm

    jonm Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 12, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geeky stuff
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Wales Wales
    Show System Specs
    Hi, same here, black screen and totally hung MP exe on resume from standby. Will post logs asap.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!