Problem with MP, MCE Remote, and Vista

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by pdoconnell, February 23, 2007.

  1. pdoconnell

    pdoconnell Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, I've posted in a few threads over the last month trying to figure out some issues with MP in Vista, and they're all worked out now except for weird MCE Remote functionality. On the remote, about half the buttons work, and the ones that don't are: Volume +/-, the directional buttons, the OK button, and any of the number pad keys including clear and enter. I've tried uninstalling all the remote drivers and reinstalling them automatically w/ basic plug and play sorta stuff, but that hasn't changed anything. Is there a setting somewhere that will allow me to either teach it or have it just work with a checkbox or something that I've missed? In alternative, does anyone have a working .inf and the corresponding dlls for Vista for the remote to see if maybe its just something weird w/ my remote?

    I'm currently using the 0.2.2 and latest SVN of MP, and no build has given me functionality since I installed (It was a clean install not an upgrade in case that matters). Uninstalling and reinstalling MP hasn't helped either. This is the last thing I need for MP to be really usable for me and I would greatly appreciate any help that can be sent my way.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mclog

    mclog Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 6, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    I had the same problem, and my solution was:

    1) take out the batteries
    2) press the power button and then press every button on the remote (keeping the power button pressed all the time)
    3) insert batteries

    Let me know if that works for you.
     
  4. pdoconnell

    pdoconnell Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I tried that, nothing worked...I tried the PC power button on the remote, the TV power button on the remote, and even the big green button just to be sure. Out of curiousity, what would make that work for you? Is it a reset code or something plugged into the hardware or what? Thanks for the idea though, just wish it had worked.
     
  5. wortelsoft

    wortelsoft Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    There is a problem with the remote that it crashes if the battery runs out. You need to get the batteries out for at least half an hour before replacing them.
     
  6. Alberto

    Alberto Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 15, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have the same problem, dont work volume control in remote control MCE.

    Mediaportal: 0.2.2.0 with latest SVN
    Windows Vista Home Premium
    MCE Remote

    What's solution?
     
  7. mclog

    mclog Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 6, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    I just think that having the batteries out and using all the buttons helps to drain the stored power and give some kind of reset to the remote. Some people short it using a paperclip.

    I have same problems back now, going to try the batteries out for a few hours now...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!