Codecs Problem with playing AV input (1 Viewer)

WeeGraeme

Portal Member
October 26, 2008
Brisbane
Home Country
I'm not sure if this is a hardware or software problem, so apologies if this is the wrong area to ask.

I have a HVR2200 in my media pc, which I'm using to record pay tv. They're connected via svideo and RCA audio.

I'm finding the volume is significantly lower if I view the same program via my media pc vs direct from the paytv box to the tv.

I also find that the video drops out for between 2 and 10 seconds at a time. The screen goes to a blue screen with a white patch at the bottom.

I'm new to media pc's and I don't really understand what codecs are responsible for, but does this sound like a problem which replacing or tweaking a codec might fix?

I'm currently using Windows 7 RC, but if it'd be more reliable, I can easily swap back to XP Home SP3 or Vista Home Premium SP1.

DVB-T seems to work fine and I'm not bothering with analogue TV channels, other than for the paytv connection.

Any suggestions, please?

WeeGraeme

Portal Member
October 26, 2008
Brisbane
Home Country
Given that I was running the RC version of Windows 7, which is potentially less stable than a proper released version, I've changed my operating system to Vista SP1. I've also read and learnt how to create and attach log files.

I'd appreciate any thoughts or suggestions.

WeeGraeme

Portal Member
October 26, 2008
Brisbane
Home Country
Hello,

Which codecs are you currently using?

Hi, Kotik

I started off using the default. Then I read some posts where people were praising ffdshow, so I installed that, but it made no difference.

I now have CBVA DMD wrapper filter as the mpeg2 video decoder. I'm not sure of the version, but I only downloaded it from their website yesterday.

ffdshow rev 3052 is the H264 video decoder.

Everything else is the default. They're the only two I changed.

Kotik

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • March 19, 2009
    Athens
    Home Country