Quiet DVD-Recorder unit (1 Viewer)

Program.X

Portal Pro
October 25, 2005
Ramsey, Isle of Man
Hi,

Nearly finished my HTPC set-up. Any suggestions for a quiet DVD Recorder? Is this LabelScribe worth it? Is it possible to get region free devices?

Any help, much appreciated.

Judaz

Portal Member
October 16, 2005
Trondheim
Home Country
Norway Norway
Program.X said:
Hi,

Nearly finished my HTPC set-up. Any suggestions for a quiet DVD Recorder? Is this LabelScribe worth it? Is it possible to get region free devices?

Any help, much appreciated.

If you haven't got one already, I've tried Aopen, Samsung, NEC and BenQ for my system. As I work as a computer reseller I have access to a lot of hardware, and the BenQ DW1640/1650 is probaby the best unit i have tried. Low noise level, bearly audible in normal DVD playback, fast and low access times.

- Judaz -

snewman

Portal Member
January 30, 2006
Australia
I can second that recommendation for the Benq writers.

After looking around the forums for advice I purchased a DW1650 and I'm very happy with it.

Sounds like a harrier jumpjet taking off when you're installing software (very quick though) but when playing DVDs its quieter than my appliance DVD players (LG and Sony).

I haven't used the LightScribe feature yet - haven't bothered to get the media.

--

Users who are viewing this thread

Similar threads

Hello, I know this is an old product and i've been using since back in the MCE days! I have this running on a Windows 10 install and I'm just using to blast channels to a Scientific Atlanta STB thats being decoded by an HDPVR. Everything works perfectly, but after some time (less than a day), it starts having an issue where the...
Hello, I know this is an old product and i've been using since back in the MCE days! I have this running on a Windows 10 install...
Hello, I know this is an old product and i've been using since back in the MCE days! I have this running on a Windows 10 install...
Replies
Views