[confirm] - RC3 cant play divx and avi files unless video codec set to MPC MPeg2 decoder

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 3 to 6' started by KevL, May 23, 2010.

  1. KevL

    KevL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 3, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.1.0RC3
    MediaPortal Skin: Monochrome 3.3
    Windows Version: winxp mce2005 build 2600.xpsp080413-2111: SP3
    CPU Type: Athlon 4850e
    HDD: 32GB SSD + 2x Samsung Spinpoint F1 1000GB
    Memory: 4GB DDR2
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H Bios F7
    Video Card: ATI HD4550
    Video Card Driver: Catlayst 9.3
    Sound Card: M Audio Transit USB optical SPDIF OUT
    Sound Card AC3: Transit USB optical SPDIF out
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: Blackgold BTG 3540 6in1
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T x 2 , DVB-S x 2
    1. TV Card Driver: 6.0.0.25
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: Cyberlink PDVD8
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: MPC MPA SPDIF out via Transit USB
    h.264 Video Codec: Cyberlink PDVD8
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Digital Terrestrial, Multisat motorised system
    HTPC Case: Antec Fusion
    Cooling: Zalmann (huge copper thing)
    Power Supply: 320W Antec Fusion
    Remote: Harmony via USB UIRT
    TV: Pioneer PDP-508XD
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI



    Have just upgraded from 1.0.2

    Did a complete clean install. On 1.0.2 I never had this problem. PDVD8 and Nvidia decoder worked flawlessly. When I upgraded to 1.1.0RC3 I noticed that no avi or divx files would play. Having run out of things to try I changed the normal video codec from Cyberlink PDVD8 to the one supplied with MP (the MPC codec). This is the only way I can play these file types.



    When the PDVD8 codec is selected in MP the file avi or divx file seems to play but the screen does not show the video. It shows only the MP menu (which is unresponsive). If I stop the playback the MP menu works normally again.

    When the Nvidia codec is selected then attempting to play an avi or divx file crashes MP.


    Have I misconfigured something?


    I have attached 3 sets of logfiles.

    1. with the MPC codec selected.
    2. with cyberlink PDVD8 selected.
    3. with Nvidia Purevideo codec selected.


    Hope this helps.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Seems that you are loading 2 filters when "NOT" using the MPC mpeg2 filter., only with that is the xvid filter only being used :confused:

    Have you enabled any postprocessing or dxva settings that may be causing this to happen, might be worthwhile running filmerit to see if there are any errors.
     
  4. KevL

    KevL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 3, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Many thanks for the pointer Ray.


    I downloaded filmerit 3.0. Read the manual, made a restore point and used the magic button to correct 14 errors it had found.

    None of these errors were associated with video codecs as such but I ran the tool and now have no errors reported.

    Rebooted pc to be on the safe side and reran MP.

    Now problem isnt fixed but it is different.

    Now playing an avi with either Nvidia or Cyberlink codec fails to play the film but now the Nvidia codec doesnt crash MP.


    Before troubling you with this error I did read the forum and there were reports of similar behaviour on RC1 and RC2. There was a core.dll released at some point but this doesn't work with RC3.


    I have set my video decoders to use dxva. This is how I ran them in MP1.0.2. Is this no longer preferred? I have a radeon 4550 which used to work well in that mode (silky smooth playback). I am not using (knowingly) any postprocessing.



    Kev
     
  5. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    do these files play fine in WMP, might be worthwhile reinstalling the Xvid codec, take it that was you who installed that and you have the latest version from ??????? ???????? - XvidVideo.RU

    Sorry trying to get my head around why a mpeg2 codec is getting involved at all unless it has been forcibly added, think I would be tempted to remove both the codecs, make sure everything working and try introducing them one by one.
     
  6. KevL

    KevL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 3, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I have checked my xvid codec. It was version 1.22 but to be on the safe side I downloaded that latest version from your Russian site. I have installed it and also reinstalled the haali media splitter - this is now also latest version.

    I can play avi in windows media player.

    I can also play the file if I drop it onto graphedit. I have atteched the zipped graph.

    When I set MP to MPC MPeg2 codec then it plays fine. Graph attached.

    When Cyberlink is set to video codec it still doesnt play. Graph also attached. Note that in this case MP has put the cyberlink decoder in the graph after the mp4 decoder. Cant imagine that is helping :)


    Kev
     

    Attached Files:

  7. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Can confirm this when NVidia codec set as MPEG2 decoder.

    MP adds this to graph and also the XVid codec. It then adds NVidia as a post-processor of the XVid codec (even though no post-processing is configured in MP). And then MP hard crashes when playback starts.

    I have ended up using FFDShow for XVid playback which works but means I can not use NVidia codec (which actually seems to be better than most for broadcast MPEG2 material)
     
  8. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Think only Ambass or tourettes may know the answer why this is happening now, do not remember seeing anyone reporting this effect before.

    Edit, just seen your other post LOL, so existed a couple of months ago, bet if you put the file inside mkv it works correctly.
     
  9. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I reported this in RC2 but was marked as fixed by the upcoming change to graph building

    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/mediaportal-1-1-0-rc-1-2-496/hard-crash-nvidia-decoder-79825/
     
  10. Cooler

    Cooler Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    htpc/mce builder
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Hey there yes i have the same problem but fixt it

    problem only wen doing clean instal of rc3

    then i instalt rc2 and upgraded to rc3 then problem went away did not have time to make logs on rc3 so can not help you there

    hoop this option will fix it for ya


    greets cooler
     
  11. KevL

    KevL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 3, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    will be happy to see this issue logged as a bug.


    K
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!