Recorded TV has better quality than Live TV?

Discussion in 'General Support' started by sderuiter, August 17, 2006.

  1. sderuiter

    sderuiter Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 2, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Area: Media Portal Program
    MediaPortal Version: 0.2.0.4 (2006-08-11)
    MediaPortal Skin: BlueTwo
    Windows Version: Windows XP (SP2)
    .NET CLR Version: 2.0.50727
    DirectX Version: 4.09.00.0904 (9.0c)
    Audio Codec: CyberLink Audio Decoder
    Video Codec: CyberLink Video/SP Decoder
    CPU Type: Intel Pentium 4 - 2.80GHz
    Memory: 1 GB
    Motherboard: MS-6743 (MICRO-STAR INTL, CO.,LTD.)
    TV Card Model: Hauppage MCE 500
    TV Card Type: Hardware
    TV Card Driver: Latest
    Video Card Model: Nvidia Geforce FX 5200 (128 MB)
    Video Card Driver: Forceware 84.21
    Video Card Resolution: 1200x676
    Video Render Type: VMR9
    Audio Card Model: Envy24 Family Audio Controller WDM
    Audio Card Driver: 5.00b

    Recorded tv looks better (more crisp, sharper) than Live TV. Is this even possible? Do the settings for TV cards in configuration.exe influence recording and live tv? There is a setting there for recording quality (set to variable bitrate, avg. 8000, max 12000), but not for live tv.

    Any hints?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. jawbroken

    jawbroken Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 13, 2005
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Afghanistan Afghanistan
    Sounds strange. I know the same engine is used for recording as timeshifting, so is quality better when timeshifting?
     
  4. sderuiter

    sderuiter Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 2, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hmm, never tried that, but will do tonight. Good tip.
     
  5. smnnekho
    • Premium Supporter

    smnnekho Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 6, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    well, i'm not 100% sure but:

    when watching TV MP uses the codecs/settings for Television you set in configuration

    but when playing a recording you're practically playing a video file - meaning you use the codecs and settings from video in configuration

    so if i were you i would compare those two to see if there is some difference...
     
  6. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    are you sure that you set the same Video/Audio Codecs for Television AND Movies in MediaPortal Setup?
     
  7. smnnekho
    • Premium Supporter

    smnnekho Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 6, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0

    that's what i meant (-;
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!