RemoteDesktop from Microsoft do not start MP

Discussion in 'General Support' started by JohnnyBoy, March 13, 2006.

  1. JohnnyBoy

    JohnnyBoy Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have installed .net 1.0 2.0 and MediaPortal 0.2 RC2. Everuthing works fine om the hostmachine..

    Want to control the MP machine thru standard Remote Desktop from standard XP. A popup tells me that DirectX and rendering is the problem.

    Any solution?

    Have also tried VNC .. This works but is slow..
    Trying to run Mediaplayer works..
    MP is the only application that do not work..
    MP setup works fine




    Regards

    Johnny
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Khris

    Khris Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 2, 2005
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Geek
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    You can't run MP through Remote Desktop.....it just won't work.

    VNC is the only option to control the machine remotely.
     
  4. Callifo
    • Premium Supporter

    Callifo Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    17
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    RDP doesnt support DirectX applications so you wont be able to. Games would have the same effect. Have a play with UltraVNC, it has a turbo (low accuracy though, but only effects typed text) mode which makes the menu rather acceptable in terms of speed.
     
  5. JohnnyBoy

    JohnnyBoy Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you for the information.. I will take a look at UltraVNC..
     
  6. moullas

    moullas Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 15, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Cyprus Cyprus
    I've had luck with RAdmin, which is fairly faster than TightVnc....

    However, it's not a free soft... so it depends on how much you want this thing..
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!