Ripping TV shows to AVI or other formats

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by thalor, June 6, 2008.

  1. thalor

    thalor New Member

    Joined:
    March 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    What software can do this in BAtch mode so I can rip my TV shows to the HD in AVI format. I use the MYTVShows plug in and so far I've found a couple of progs that do it, but not very well. Any insight would be appreciated.



    :D
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. strontium

    strontium Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    for free there is handbrake for windows, personally I bought DVDfab and use this. It really is a bit of trial and error to find some software that you like.
     
  4. thalor

    thalor New Member

    Joined:
    March 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I have DVDFAB Platinum. Does it do batch encoding of the individual episodes? I havent checked.
     
  5. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Personally use MCEBuddy, set it to convert after 14 days (You really do not want every single show converted) by then will have watched and deleted what i do not want to keep, and have set it to convert during night hours only, with powerscheduler set to ignore shutdown whilst memcoder is running, so it will suspend when the process has finished.

    And the bonus is, it runs comskip, so the add's disappear as well.

    h.264 output with this is fantastic, no quality loss that i can see to original DVB recording.

    MCEBuddy.JPG
     
  6. bolders

    bolders Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 1, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hey PD

    does MCEbuddy also work with ts files generated by TV server. Ive just had a quick scan of the homepage and it only mentions DVR-MS files.

    Thanks

    bolders

    edit\

    How accurate is the comskip function at only removing adds and not the actual program data and also how do you get the TV database to recognise the new files as they have a different file extension.
     
  7. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    ts file setup is shown in config picture :)

    You lose the TV info, but most things i record are films\TVSeries so the 2 relevant plugins are used, it does mean renaming files according.

    Sorry yet to find the magic, i do not have to do anything manually answer yet :(

    comskip works for me as it is, but you may need one of the different country ini files to get the best commercial skip for you. (link on mcebuddy's homepage).
     
  8. bolders

    bolders Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 1, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi

    Sorry would help if i looked properly lol



    Great source btw just what ive been looking for - simple and effective.

    However I have another question - I assume you are converting to h.264. This would be my prefered option but on the test I have done using h.264, with a .ts file created by TV server, I get good quality picture but no audio. DivX works fine tho :confused:

    Have you had any problems like this or do you have any suggestions

    again thanks

    bolders
     
  9. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yep using h.264 as format to convert to.

    dropped one of the files into gspot and it shows audio is going through ffdshow, as i use the cccp (combined community codec pack) which includes ffdshow and in MP config ffdshow is used for all audio codec choices, maybe that is why mine works and yours does not
     
  10. bolders

    bolders Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 1, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    ahh ill give that a go

    I used to use cccp but droped it in order to keep the number of codecs installed to a minimum. I only have coreAVC, nvidia pure video and DivX installed at the mo.

    Cheers for the info

    bolders
     
  11. TommySharp
    • Premium Supporter

    TommySharp MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 15, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    My MCEBuddy keeps crashing about 10% into any video file. I'm trying to use 1.0.8, you guys ever had any problems?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!