Safely Remove USb Stick? (1 Viewer)

Joe90

Portal Member
April 10, 2010
How can you safely remove a USB stick (inserted to play media files located on it) without switching out (ALT+TAB) or ALT+ENTER to get at the notification icon? Is there a plugin for this, or a menu item somewhere?

Thanks

Liquidtouch

Portal Pro
February 25, 2007
Victoria, BC Canada
Home Country
Canada Canada
I am unaware of any such plug-in for Media Portal.

You can make sure write caching is disabled and you "shouldn't" have any issues just pulling it out. I work in IT and use them all day everyday and have never had a problem doing that. Just make sure the light is not flashing and nothing is being written to the memory stick when you pull it out.

Disable Write Caching:

-Right click on the device (ie. a removable hard disk drive)
-Properties
-Hardware
-You choose the device
-Properties
-Policies
-Optimize for quick removal

Users who are viewing this thread

Similar threads

MP1 MP2 MP2 - V2.5 Media Source DE
@Brownard, just a stupid question. Yes it works now by manually entering the path. However when i try to edit the settings (like because i want to disable the share watch) I can select my Media Source, however i seems to only briefly been shown and the goes back to the list. So i cannot actually edit it. Can et bee due to the "long"...
@Brownard, just a stupid question. Yes it works now by manually entering the path. However when i try to edit the settings (like...
I had to replace my NAS and after reinstalling a new one i thought. Lets modify the Media Source. - However that did not work "if"...
Replies
Views
MP1 MP2 [News] MediaPortal 2 - 2.5 Release DE
Will be version 2.5.1 ready quite soon? I read somewhere it will be a bugfix release, no new features are probably not in focus.
Will be version 2.5.1 ready quite soon? I read somewhere it will be a bugfix release, no new features are probably not in focus.