Serious error - reverted back to MCE!

Discussion in 'General Support' started by edgedemon, October 16, 2010.

  1. edgedemon
    • Premium Supporter

    edgedemon MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 13, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This is really doing my head in as I don't know how to troubleshoot it...

    A couple of weeks ago, MP stopped working, or at least it did for watching TV series and moving pictures.
    When I go into either My TV series or Moving pictures, select a title and then press play - MP freezes, everytime and I have to ctrl+del out of it...
    All the files are on my windows home server, and outside MP, they play fine..
    I have tried so many things to fix this and Im getting nowhere..
    So tonight, I completely reinstalled win7, put MP 1.1 on, SAF codecs 4, and streamed MP and tried again - no luck, it freezes instantly.
    Double check network access - fine, can play anything outside MP, just not inside MP



    I have had to configure Windows media centre just to give us a solution for now, and boy is it horrible, last time I looked at WMC was in 2005, and that made me move to MP, and it hasn't changed - it is still horrible :-(
    I have put MP into debug mode and attached my log files, as Im at a loss to think what is causing this.
    I had a new ISP put a new router in, but since I can acces my files and play them outside of MP,Im presuming that it is not that.
    Please help me with some ideas to troubleshoot this as Im at a loss here?

    logs attached
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. edgedemon
    • Premium Supporter

    edgedemon MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 13, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I should add that in Windows media centre, all files play OK, so I dont think it is a codec issue, or a network one, this seems confined to MP, or related to it, and it is not just streamed MP, it happens with blue3 as well
     
  4. robyf
    • Premium Supporter

    robyf Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    139
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Bolzano
    Ratings:
    +141 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Have you reconfigured MP or used old configurations (database files)? Because from logs it seems you have problems with tvseries DB. I suggest you to clear the configuration and reconfigure from scratch.
     
  5. edgedemon
    • Premium Supporter

    edgedemon MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 13, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It is a brand new install and as of yet, I haven't configured MyTVSeries plugin, just the movies plugin and I was watching my tv series through the video menu on the homepage ...
    Looking through the Application logs, I have an error

    The program MediaPortal.exe version 1.1.1.0 stopped interacting with Windows and was closed. To see if more information about the problem is available, check the problem history in the Action Center control panel.
    Process ID: 7d0
    Start Time: 01cb6cb936941b71
    Termination Time: 38
    Application Path: C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\MediaPortal.exe
    Report Id:
    + System

    - Provider

    [ Name] Application Hang

    - EventID 1002

    [ Qualifiers] 0

    Level 2

    Task 101

    Keywords 0x80000000000000

    - TimeCreated

    [ SystemTime] 2010-10-15T22:39:37.000000000Z

    EventRecordID 371

    Channel Application

    Computer HTPC

    Security


    - EventData

    MediaPortal.exe
    1.1.1.0
    7d0
    01cb6cb936941b71
    38
    C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\MediaPortal.exe

    430072006F00730073002D0074006800720065006100640000000000


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Binary data:


    In Words

    0000: 00720043 0073006F 002D0073 00680074
    0008: 00650072 00640061 00000000


    In Bytes

    0000: 43 00 72 00 6F 00 73 00 C.r.o.s.
    0008: 73 00 2D 00 74 00 68 00 s.-.t.h.
    0010: 72 00 65 00 61 00 64 00 r.e.a.d.
    0018: 00 00 00 00 ....

    Not that it means much!!!

    I will try and reconfigure again and see where I get, but Im not hopeful as this was a complete reformat and clean install...

    Will report back when Im done..
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!