Slow load/freeze loading window plugins

Discussion in 'General Support' started by ChrisOfCatford, December 1, 2009.

  1. ChrisOfCatford
    • Premium Supporter

    ChrisOfCatford MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 2, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    London UK
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    MediaPortal Version: 1.02
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue3 Wide
    Windows Version: XP Pro
    CPU Type: AMD
    HDD: 250GB SATA
    Memory: 1 GB
    Motherboard: abit BF-M2SV
    Video Card: Onboard NVIDIA 6100
    Video Card Driver: Latest availible
    Sound Card: Onboard
    Sound Card Driver: Whatever windows update gave me last
    1. TV Card: N/A (Client)
    MPEG2 Video Codec: Default
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: Default
    h.264 Video Codec: N/A
    HTPC Case: Homebrew old DVD case
    Cooling: Air
    Power Supply: Cheap
    Remote: MCE (through ORIGINAE VFD)
    TV: Monitor
    TV - HTPC Connection: VGA

    Hello,

    I have a MP client with some issues.

    I use hibernate for a quick start and this has usually worked. A while ago (after going to the current stable version) I started having problems with a freeze on loading.

    It is intermittent and can happen after a re-boot or hibernation. It freezes on "Loading Window Plugins". After this, if I exit MP by forcing quit (alt+F4 does not work so it is via Task Manager) I have issues, especially with networking: long freezes and no response from "My Network Places". Mediaportal Config' won't run either after such an issue. It is like a plugin is still running.



    The only solution is to re-boot. Which does not always work either.

    I found recently that if I leave it for ages, like 5 minutes+, it does eventually load. If this happens, I get the same sort of delays on network stuff. The Guide takes more than a few minutes to come up. TV does work after this, but I get drop-outs and freezes.

    When it does load without this delay, it works great. No problems at all. Just this is happening more frequently recently.

    I had Vista on this machine before and it still did this, so I am thinking maybe it is something to do with hardware. I tried disabling minidisplay plugin, Weather (found that on another post) but nothing has worked so far.

    Logs attached from start MP, wait for freeze to end, Load guide....., try TV, exit MP.

    Can anyone tell me what might be the issue here please?

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ChrisOfCatford
    • Premium Supporter

    ChrisOfCatford MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 2, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    London UK
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Still have the same problem.

    If I force quit of MP then restart the PC, it gives a fast not responding (Perhaps of the offending part of MP) but this is too fast to read.

    It seems to be that this helps after the restart. Could be just random though.

    Someone out there must have had this issue???

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  4. ChrisOfCatford
    • Premium Supporter

    ChrisOfCatford MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 2, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    London UK
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hello,

    Sorry to spam but...

    Others have similar problems here:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...-hangs-loading-w-plugins-when-htpc-off-69939/
    and here:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...-seat-tv-server-s3-sleep-client-freeze-59022/
    and this one ends the same unanswered:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/.../fresh-install-vista-mp-freeze-startup-52632/
    and a bit here:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...-1-0-multiseat-really-slow-please-help-51898/
    comes up here too:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...client-can-t-connect-server-46567/index2.html
    also here:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/1-0-rc1-svn-builds-271/issues-muti-seat-setup-39034/

    I have no firewall on all my machines.
    Connect by wired LAN
    Have other clients without this problem.

    I am happy to assume that this is a hardware issue, just don't know what to look for beacuse noone is talking to me. Please help!

    Seriously, any ideas???? Anyone????

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  5. ChrisOfCatford
    • Premium Supporter

    ChrisOfCatford MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 2, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    London UK
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Oh! Now I get it...

    Hi,

    Three words:

    Overheating Network Cable

    Why did it only go wrong in the morning? Why did it work fine in the afternoon?

    Finally figured out that the heating, set to come on at 5:30, was to blame. I isolated the cable and insulated where it crossed a heating pipe and the problem is now solved.

    Still think it would be good if MP gave some sort of on-screen message (like "Cannot connect to server, please check your crappy cabling for contact with heating pipes you idot!"), rather than effectively locking you out and refusing to load for ages, but you can't have it all!

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!