[SOLVED] MP sound effect does not work (SPDIF out)

Discussion in 'General Support' started by wormhole2k, August 20, 2010.

  1. wormhole2k

    wormhole2k Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 21, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    System Administrator
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Show System Specs
    After I have upgraded my soundcard to a Asus D2x, and I uses the optical out, I have a small issue with the Sound Effects in MP, that is "playing" when scrolling around in the menues, selecting items etc. They do not play.

    The problem(I THINK), is that the SPDIF out is not active all the time when there is no sound produced (I can see this on the reciever). When I scoll,or select an item, I can see on the reciever that it gets active, but there must be some delay, because it is just not working. (If I press rappidly, I can sometimes get a little MP sound effects through).



    Any ideas ?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Jay_UK
    • Team MediaPortal

    Jay_UK Test Group

    Joined:
    October 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    Enterprise Architect
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Re: MP sound effect does not work (SPDIF out)

    Hi there,

    I'm not sure about XP, but on Windows7 you can specify different devices for different types of audio - have a look at your OS audio settings.

    I know on my system, Windows sounds are not via SPDIF

    J.
     
  4. wormhole2k

    wormhole2k Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 21, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    System Administrator
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Show System Specs
    Re: MP sound effect does not work (SPDIF out)

    The SPDIF is enabled with the asus software.
    Maybe I should change something in MP ?

    --edit--
    It plays windows system sounds fine through the SPDIF.
     
  5. SiLenTYL
    • Premium Supporter

    SiLenTYL Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +153 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Re: MP sound effect does not work (SPDIF out)

    ha yeh i have the same thing happen on my Sony amp!

    the amp is too slow to pickup the sound..so when a fraction-of-a-second sound clip plays ..the sound clip is all over before the amp has a chance to do anything!

    its not really a problem..its a flaw with your (and my) amp...or MP whatever which way u look at it

    try holding down arrow on a list and u'll hear a spam of half-click sometimes

    unfortunetly Mp doesnt send a permanent stream via spdif to an amp..just inits the sound system..plays the sound...then switches sound off
     
  6. wormhole2k

    wormhole2k Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 21, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    System Administrator
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Show System Specs
    Re: MP sound effect does not work (SPDIF out)

    Exactly.

    Ive got it workin though, but selecting SPDIF/PCM as output in the Asus D2x control panel instead of SPDIF DDL or SPDIF DTS.
    BUT BUT BUT, if I do so, then there is no voices/speaks comming from the movies, but the sound effects are there!??

    I do not understand it! :(
     
  7. SiLenTYL
    • Premium Supporter

    SiLenTYL Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +153 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Re: MP sound effect does not work (SPDIF out)

    i dont know how the setup works for an Asus D2x as compared to a common realtek onboard sound chip that i have sry

    perhaps u can try with the onboard sound device SPDIF OUT if u have one and see how the setup compares
     
  8. wormhole2k

    wormhole2k Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 21, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    System Administrator
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Show System Specs
    Re: MP sound effect does not work (SPDIF out)

    I have disabled the sounds in MP, because of the SPDIF "bug"

    --edit--
    Solved it!
    Solved, and I now have the sounds re-enabled. :)

    Same issue and solution as my post here.
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...ad-sound-mediaportal-vlc-ok-85924/#post651295

    Changed the Asus D2x config center to use PCM and not DTS or DDL.

    Doing this I could setup ffdshow to use DDL and DTS. Then I enabled the ffdshow filter inside mediaportal.

    When it is setup this way, the enconding in done on the amplifier and NOT on HTPC.

    For more info check the SAF 4.0 guide here
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!