Television picture not filling full screen

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Fedaj, December 15, 2007.

  1. Fedaj

    Fedaj New Member

    Joined:
    December 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    TV-Server Version: Not using it, AFAIK.
    MediaPortal Version: 0.2.3.0
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue Two Wide
    Windows Version: Windows XP SP 2
    CPU Type: C2D e6600
    HDD: Seagate 250GB SATA+WD 250GB SATA
    Memory: 2048 MB DDR2 800 Geil Ultra
    Motherboard: Asus P5B-V
    Motherboard Chipset: Intel G965
    Motherboard Bios: 1102
    Video Card: Nvidia Geforce 8800 GTS 640MB
    Video Card Driver: 163.71
    Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 4
    Sound Card AC3: +
    Sound Card Driver: 2-09-0016
    1. TV Card: Avermedia 777
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver: 6.0.7.07041901
    MPEG2 Video Codec: MPV
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: MPA
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: N/A
    HTPC Case: N/A
    Cooling: Asus Silent Square + 2x120mm Case Fans + 90mm Case Fan+RAM Heatsinks.
    Power Supply: Enermax Liberty 500
    Remote: Avermedia
    TV: Using the computer's monitor, DELL WFP 3007-HC
    TV - HTPC Connection: N/A

    First and foremost, hello and thanks for any help anyone can provide me here. I've installed and configured MediaPortal, and when trying to watch televisión, when I go to full screen, the picture doesn't cover the whole screen. In fact, it doesn't even change size at all, remaining at whatever dimensions it was when windowed. The picture relocates to the top-left corner of the screen, and the remaining part of it stays black.



    I guess it's something I've overlooked on the configuration, but after searching back and forth in the dialog, I seem to be unable to find it. A search on these forums didn't turn up any related topic, though it's possible that I didn't come up with the right search terms.

    Has anyone any idea what can be causing this?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    I have no idea what is causing it.

    In MP Configuration, under the Television part, you will see "Default zoom mode". What is the setting there? What is the effect if you change it to "Stretch"?
     
  4. Fedaj

    Fedaj New Member

    Joined:
    December 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sorry to be so late to answer, busy weekend. I started at normal, and then tried each and every possibility. Although it changes the image, like if I was changing the aspect ratio, it remains at more or less the same size. Looks like mediaportal keeps the viewport a sixth of the screen, and the options just change how the image is rendered on that sixth, although the rest of the screen goes black when I switch to full-screen, meaning the MP at least tries to really do it.

    However, if I drag the corner of the window to resize it in windowed mode, the image does resize. It takes an unholy amount of time (as does going to full-screen, as well), but eventually happens. But I don't think I'm supposed to do that, am I?
     
  5. zion22

    zion22 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 6, 2006
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    No, fullscreen is supposed to be... fullscreen. ;)

    But do you run MP in fullscreen also? (i.e. the GUI)
     
  6. Dubyahjay
    • Premium Supporter

    Dubyahjay MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 1, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Try setting the default zoom mode to "normal", tell us your results.
     
  7. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    If I understand his reply correctly, he did indeed already try "normal" without success.
    I out of ideas. Maybe you should attch a log file. One of the experts can maybe pick up something there.
     
  8. Nemulate

    Nemulate Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 29, 2005
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    IOW
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Isn't the problem the same one that there's always been? ie you can't go between windowed and fullscreen modes with the mp gui while watching live tv. It's a known bug. Try stopping tv before going full screen then start tv again.
     
  9. Fedaj

    Fedaj New Member

    Joined:
    December 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok, seems like I solved it through Nemulate's suggestion. Seems it was the skin (Blue Two Wide), because even outside "My TV", when resizing it would just resize the fonts and cramp everything on the same space as before going fullscreen (real fullscreen zion22, through options->fullscreen :) ). Changing the skin to the default Blue two lets me do the fullscreen dance just right :D, although it still takes a bit of time - but it's just fine. Thanks for your help, everyone!
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!