Testing DVB-T h264 for Norway

Discussion in 'General Support' started by royne, January 31, 2008.

  1. royne

    royne Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Project Leader and progammer
    Location:
    Asker
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Testing DVB-T h264 for Norway
    In most of Norway’s NTV and Riks-TV is up and running with h264/MPEG4
    3 month ago I tried Haupauge HVR-4000 (dvb-t and dvb-s2, and CI interface, Viasat, Riks-TV, DVBViewer Pro, and MediaPortal, I gave it up.
    One week ago, I received 2 cards, FloppyDTV-dvb-t and FloppyDTV-dvb-s2. And guess what! I’m really satisfied with MediaPortal and FloppTDV, and the WAF factor has increased a lot.
    1. CAM with Viasat subscription, works on all channels.
    2. DiseqC works with MP and FloppyDVB.
    3. TV-Subtitles, Works.
    4. All buttons on Microsoft Remote Control, works perfect, without a lot off button assignments or learning function.
    5. Norwegian EPG for all channels, for 14 days, and with logos for most off the channels.
    6 OSD works almost as good as in MS MediaCenter.
    (With DVBViewer I’m not satisfied with 4, 5 or 6)
    I still have some problem with stability, and guess this is caused by codecs etc, and I think I will get even more stability problems with the special codecs used for video and sound in Norwegian dvb-t.



    I’m thinking of start testing Riks-TV((h264), FloppyDTV DVB-T. So I ask if anyone else is interested in this?, and if someone from the development team is interested to give some ekstra support?.

    Thanks a lot, all of you, working hard with this project, you deserve a donation.
    DONATE HERE!
    and Here for the good Norwegian EPG support
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hei!

    Very interested, off course! (I guess ronlise (MP tester) is as well!
    There are currently no Norwegian devs, but we have gathered some info about audio codecs that works or should work with the FTA channels.

    The problem is the encrypted channels... no solution yet... and none in sight (?)
     
  4. royne

    royne Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Project Leader and progammer
    Location:
    Asker
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hei!

    It shuold be possible to solve the problem with sound and video, this is done for other software.
    But what is the problem with using a ConaxCAM with a subscription card from Riks-TV for the encrypted channels?
    Is Riks-Tv using the same encryption system as Telenor Canal Digital in Norway?
     
  5. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
  6. royne

    royne Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Project Leader and progammer
    Location:
    Asker
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, it looks like we have to wait some time, for the encrypten RIks-TV chanels on PC. I dont think i will spend time on getteing just the free channnels to work on DVB-t.

    When annyone have been able to to watch encrypted RiksTV channels with a DVB-T card, pls give som information.
     
  7. Kjetilostro

    Kjetilostro New Member

    Joined:
    March 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Is it possible to use cam's from a regular tuner (Strong SRT) in the FireDTV.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!