Cottbus
Home Country
Germany Germany
Started on: 2006-12-24
last update: 2006-12-24

Summary:Possibility to set the location only for Timeshift-file

Area:MyTV

Description:
I believe it would speed up / stabilize a lot on timeshift-things if the timeshift buffer would be in memory. Therefor you could install a ramdisk-driver and set the location of the timeshift-files to this disk.

Vaaish

Portal Member
June 19, 2006
Greenville, SC
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I'm not an expert on this or anything but an hour of SD video runs anywhere between 2 and 6gb depending on quality settings and most people are running a gig or less of ram in their HTPC. Yes it might speed it up a little but I don't see this as being a viable location for the timeshft buffer because of the limited space. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong about this.

Freeman1979

Portal Member
November 12, 2006
Cottbus
Home Country
Germany Germany
I'm thinking of a extra mode with dynamic time for timeshift (not 30/60/90/.. min, but "until disk is full"). I think in many cases you don't need >15min of timeshift. Often you just want to pause for a phone call or toilet or to rewind the last 30 secs. In this case you dont need a big ram-disk, maybe a 512MB Ram-disk will be enough. I'm using a Hauppauge PVR @ ~4MBit/s VBR and there I could pause around 17 min.
I think it could speed up MyTV, just if I compare channel switching with and without enabled timeshift. I would also be good to the hdd life and could prevent the jerking if the hdd cache is flushed.

It must not be a ramdisk, but short timeshifts would be nice if they are done in a memory buffer. Maybe somebody could implement a memory ts mode with undefined length (30 min / 60min / .. / Auto (Memory) ) for people like me who doesn't need a timeshift buffer of 2h ;-)

regards Freeman

Da_JoJo

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • August 6, 2008
    Home Country
    Netherlands Netherlands