TV Auto Zoom

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by theopulus, January 15, 2010.

  1. theopulus

    theopulus Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Here in Spain there are TV shows in 4:3 and TV shows in 16:9 format. When watching TV with Mediaportal, I find that when a new show starts with a different aspect ratio (ie. a 16:9 film starts after seen 4:3 contents) the Mediaportal app does not make any change on the image, so you start watching a stretched image until you press the zoom button to adapt it. I must say that watching TV with the integrated tuner of my TV allows my to autozoom programs when that happens.

    I've also noticed that it also happens when the program at the begining is showed in 16:9 and then it changes to a 4:3 program, because the image stays in a 16:9 zoom marked as "normal" until you change the zoom.

    After trying MythTV, I found that it suppports the auto zoom as well, so I'd like to know if Mediaportal is going to give this feature supported in a near future.



    Thanks.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. razorbakmax
    • Premium Supporter

    razorbakmax MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 10, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    • Like Like x 1
  4. theopulus

    theopulus Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    I'll take a look this weekend... I hope it is what I need.

    :D
     
  5. kenwonders
    • Premium Supporter

    kenwonders MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 19, 2007
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    416
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +766 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    It should happen by default in PDVD or other modern MPEG2 decoders. Your profile says you use ffdshow for MPEG2, which would not auto adjust.
     
  6. theopulus

    theopulus Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    it sounds good, in your opinion, which MPEg2 should I choose? I've tried some others, but it seems that the image gets worse quality (pixelized and so).

    BTW, is there any MPEG2 decoder which makes use of DXVA or CUDA?

    Thanks for the response
     
  7. kenwonders
    • Premium Supporter

    kenwonders MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 19, 2007
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    416
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +766 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    I'd recommend PDVD9 or Microsoft DTV (available if your vista is ultimate) for DXVA supported codecs.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!