TV-server doesn't detect floppydtv on server 2008, can watch tv with firedtviewer

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by petillan, September 9, 2009.

  1. petillan

    petillan Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    TV-Server Version: 1.1.0 Beta1
    Windows Version: Server 2008 x86
    1. TV Card: FloppyDTV-S2
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-S2
    1. TV Card Driver : Digital Everywhere 5.0.6201.3000

    Hi, I know Server 2008 isn't supported but I think some people have managed to get their tv-cards working with mediaportal on server 2008.

    I have installed the bda drivers for server 2008 and I can watch and scan TV with the included dvbviewer FireDTV Viewer.

    However the mediaportal tv-server doesn't detect my floppydtv.
    I tested it also with dvbdream and dvbviewer they both found my hardware, could see the name "floppydtv ..." in the hardware option. But when I start to scan they both mention "Hardware not found".

    When I looked into the folder of FireDTV Viewer, I only saw one important file "FiresatApi.dll". Maybe this file needs to be loaded?

    Any experts here who might come up with an explanation?

    Is there a solution or is it just impossible?

    My goal is to build a TV-server, hence the word server so I would atleast try to run it on a server os.



    Thx in advance :)

    Here is a log:

     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. dman_lfc
    • Team MediaPortal

    dman_lfc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Occupation:
    Sales Manager
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  4. KayDiefenthal
    • Premium Supporter

    KayDiefenthal MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    71
    Occupation:
    Carpenter, Electrican
    Location:
    Germany - Bonn
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
  5. petillan

    petillan Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Thx I 'll try this

    Yes but I did it with this BDA (Tv tuner support) on Server 2008 - MSFN Forums
    but that "setup" also mentioned things about system file is not specified. So I tried this also Hauppauge UK Forum - View Single Post - Support for Windows Server 2008 - How To


    Really?
    I thought none of them had and there was only a "fix" for server 2008.

    So on server 2003 it is just installing the bda drivers from digital everywhere?
     
  6. KayDiefenthal
    • Premium Supporter

    KayDiefenthal MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    71
    Occupation:
    Carpenter, Electrican
    Location:
    Germany - Bonn
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    yes server 2003 has bda in build my install setup is

    instal server 2003 install DE BDA driver
    and the Tv Server with mssql

    and that is all
     
  7. petillan

    petillan Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Yes it works with server 2003, although it had a strange error at first

    Code (Text):
    1. 2009-09-15 17:51:36.562500 [1]: Exception   :System.Runtime.Remoting.RemotingException: .Config file 'C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\TVService.config' cannot be read successfully due to exception 'System.IO.FileNotFoundException: The system cannot find the file specified. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070002)
    Went looking in the folder and the file was named TVService.exe.config, so I renamed it to TVService.config

    What are your experiences with the TV-server on server 2003, as stabel on win xp or vista?
    Does it works good with your multiple cards?
     
  8. KayDiefenthal
    • Premium Supporter

    KayDiefenthal MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    71
    Occupation:
    Carpenter, Electrican
    Location:
    Germany - Bonn
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    the config file bug ist an tve 1.1 problem but i use 1.0.2 stable

    my server has 5 tunercards and there feed 7 client s

    this hw config run so over 2 years

    the sw config is time for time updated to the currend tve server stable release
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!