[solved] TVServer 3.5 - Option to assign 'alternate' channel number to TV channels (1 Viewer)

CanadianEh

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • July 21, 2011
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    Good morning,

I've been using MediaPortal for about two years now. Both the application and development team are stellar. You guys have built an amazing product!

One feature I'd like to request in the new TV server build would be to add an optional setting to assign a "channel number" to TV stations. I understand that this may not be useful in some circumstances, however in the USA, we tend to get used to pressing the TV remote buttons and expect when I push "5" on the remote, that it would tune to the station I call "5" (NBC), rather than what the back-end station ID is in the database itself.

So, if this was implemented as an optional field / feature, I could enable that feature and manually define the channel numbers in this extra field. Then, the remote would let me type in a 3 (or 4) digit channel number, reference this optional "manual channel number" value, and tune to that station, rather than the position it falls to in the channel group list.

This always confuses people when they come over and try to watch television. I'm not sure how difficult this would be to implement, but I know several people would use this feature.

My work-around in-place is to name channels with the channel number in front of them (ie: 3 - CBS, 4 - ABC, etc) and then sort the guide so that way it appears normal. But this leaves me with always needing to go back to the guide to choose another channel, since I have no idea what MediaPortal has assigned to the channel itself.

Is this something that could be evaluated for a future release?

Thank you all!
    -Jason

breese

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • July 11, 2011
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Home Country
    Jason, I am in the Chicagoland area and feel your pain.