Typing in a search for a show? Am I missing something? (2 Viewers)

ASiDiE

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • January 14, 2005
    USA
    I am actually pretty new to the TV portion of MP. I recently just received a PVR 500. I know you can search for shows but the way its done now, is kind of different... unless I am missing something. Shouldn't there be a way to type in the show title and have it search for the show you want?

I am thinking something like this.... There is a tab called Find shows or search. When you click that a mini keyboard comes up where you can just type or move your remote to type in the show name. It would use the same keyboard that pops up when you manually type in a Video you are looking up in IMDB.

After you type in your show, you should have several options to search on. I was thinking Actor, Director, Show title, Description. You should be able to check the ones you want, and uncheck the ones you don't. At that point you would hit the search button.

It should go through the guide and come up with shows it fines that meets the criteria you have selected. At this point you should be able to select the show to set up recording.

Maybe there is a F key that does this... that I am missing. If this feature is not currently within MP... it would be great to see something like this in the future.

I love all the hard work you guys have been putting into MP lately... it's really coming along.

Ralph

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • May 13, 2005
    Germany
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    There is no such function searching epg data in MediaPortal, right now.

But there is a plugin called Personal TV Guide.
    It's beta right now, but you can search for shows the way you described.
    Maybe this could be integrated to MediaPortals search function when plugin has a final state?

BTW, congratulations to your new TVCard.
    Finally your HTPC is complete, now. :lol:

Have fun
    Ralph

wunschkind

Portal Pro