"Upgrade" fails to replace files and causes that does not work TV

Discussion in '1.1.x and SVN Builds' started by domb, July 24, 2010.

  1. domb

    domb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 30, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Just upgraded from MP 1.1 RC6 to 1.1 final. It hasn't upgraded the TVPlugin. Now I can't starMP or MP config as it says...

    TVPlugin and MediaPortal don't have the same version.



    MpConfig Version. 1.1.0.0
    TvPlugin Version: 1.0.10.0
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,232
    Likes Received:
    4,978
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,387 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Upgrade from 1.1RC 6 to 1.1 Final unsuccessful...

    This has been answered already in different posts. Please uninstall TVServer manually (use the first option to save all your settings).
    Then reinstall the MP package. It is recommended to reboot your system afterwards. ;)
     
  4. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    re: "Upgrade" fails to replace files and causes that does not work TV

    This should be deleted as there are no logs but I will give you the benefit of the doubt as I have a feeling logs would not show much anyway.

    This seems to be caused by TVservice not being stopped by installer but no-one has been able to replicate or identify the issue.

    Unfortunately the upgrade has not worked in your case. Looking through the RC bug reports it appears that you need to re-install the TV server component.
     
  5. yoavain
    • Premium Supporter

    yoavain Extension Dev

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    304
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Software Engineer
    Ratings:
    +467 / 0
    Home Country:
    Israel Israel
    Show System Specs
    re: "Upgrade" fails to replace files and causes that does not work TV

    Had the same problem, didn't report for 2 reasons:
    1. I have many plugins & a skin installed (it's not a clean upgrade)
    2. I managed to resolve it by building an SVN build and installing "Setup-MediaPortal-svn-1.1.0.26099.exe" + "Setup-TvEngine-svn-1.1.0.26099.exe" :rolleyes:

    Anyway, I still have the logs, (though I couldn't find any abnormality there).

    Attached, first is MP, second is TV.

    Anyway, what I think you should do before uninstalling anything is this:
    1. Run the MP 1.1 Final installation (don't press "Next")
    2. Goto %temp%\MediaPortal Installation\deploy
    3. Copy aside "package-mediaportal.exe" & "package-tvengine.exe"
    4. Stop MP 1.1 installation (Press the "X")
    5. Run "package-mediaportal.exe" and choose upgrade
    6. Run "package-tvengine.exe" and choose upgrade

    This is an unofficial answer
     
  6. OleBent
    • Premium Supporter

    OleBent MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    re: "Upgrade" fails to replace files and causes that does not work TV

    I´ve had some somewhat similar difficulties.

    Cannot provide some deep and clever explanation what goes on under the hood between MP and UAC but seems to be something in that area.
    At least I´ve found a rather simple way through to a succesfull upgrade.

    Setup is runnung on W7 x64.

    UAC setting is standard and user account is local admin.

    If I right click and run the MP deploytool as admin (Right click "Run as administrator") the tv plugin doesnt get upgraded and i get the err about wrong version when starting MP config.

    If I on the other hand run the deploy tool as currently logged on user accepting the prompt for elevated privileges the tv service upgrade fails.


    Therefore my path to a succesfull upgrade at least from RC4->RC5->RC6 and on to the final 1.1.0 has proven to be...

    - Stop the tv service

    - Run the deploytool as currently logged on user accepting the prompt for elevated privilegies.

    Everything then upgrades perfectly.
     
  7. Lucky-Eagle
    • Premium Supporter

    Lucky-Eagle MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    re: "Upgrade" fails to replace files and causes that does not work TV

    Thank you yoavain! Your method made it.
     
  8. domb

    domb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 30, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    re: "Upgrade" fails to replace files and causes that does not work TV

    in the end i just extracted the tv plugin from the installer and upgraded it manually. found it strange that upgrades worked from svns and every RC but the final version fails.
     
  9. globaldonkey
    • Premium Supporter

    globaldonkey MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 23, 2007
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    44
    Ratings:
    +51 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    re: "Upgrade" fails to replace files and causes that does not work TV

    +1 for this problem. Did as Catavolt suggested to fix it.
     
  10. infinite.loop
    • Team MediaPortal

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    The problem is that on some systems, one of the files (i.e. TvService.exe) is "locked" by windows - hence it can not be replaced by our installer during an upgrade.
    We tried hard to find out why this happens, but without any luck.
    Only way out is to completelly rework our upgrade procedure to check if all files were replaced, and if not request a reboot and then replace the files after that.

    Or check if any of the files which will get replaced are currently "locked". If it is we need to find out if we can "unlock" it. If this is not possible we will have to request a reboot before the upgrade starts.

    http://mantis.team-mediaportal.com/view.php?id=2975
     
  11. domb

    domb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 30, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I see what you're saying but I didn't have a problem with the TV Service, it was the client plug-in for MediaPortal. The only reason I can see this being locked is if MediaPortal is open but obviously it wasn't.

    The only plug-in that I have activated which I didn't before was the power scheduler. Perhaps this interacts with the TV client in some way? I didn't do much experimenting to be honest, just replaced it and got on with things but a restart before/after upgrading isn't going to hurt if it solves these problems.

    :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!