"USB TV Tuner" ... how to configure? (1 Viewer)

Contours

Portal Member
August 13, 2015
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Please bear with me on this, as I'm brand new with MediaPortal. I've installed MP1 on my Win8.1 PC ... and it looks great. I can get at all the menus ... and even downloaded an EPG for my area.

The problem is: I have no content. Nothing.

What I do have is a VCR with dozens of recorded family tapes that I want to feed in to view in MediaPortal. The VCR sends content via 75ohm coax as "NTSC Channel 3". All I need to do is get the content 1) decoded from the EasyCap USB TV Tuner that I've installed and 2) feed it to MediaPortal.

This sounds simple to me ... and I can't believe I can't find instructions ... but, alas, I can't get even a toehold.

Device Manager recognizes the USB tuner and reports it as "USB TV Tuner" ... and says I have the best driver when I've tried to update.

I know the VCR's output is good, because I can see it on a directly-connected TV. But I don't know how to view content from the card with a PC application ... which is why I'm trying MediaPortal.

I'll mention that I'm very familiar with PCs ... and USB ... and drivers, etc. But all the video/media terms are foreign to me (except for NTSC and EPG). Things like TV-server, IPTV, hybrid cards ... they don't mean a thing to me. So when I've tried to read up, I find things like this:

"It is possible to watch TV not only via DVB-T, DVB-S or DVB-C, but you can also watch TV via DVB-IP aka IPTV."

I'm getting the idea that what makes this all so complicated is that there are too many variables (hardware x software x content = "many").

Can someone using EasyCap help me? Or can someone suggest how I should proceed. (BTW, I also have a Pinnacle PCTV 800e that I also got nowhere with.)

Thanks in advance.

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome :)