Using an External Bluray / HD-DVD Player

Discussion in 'Moving Pictures' started by jof, February 18, 2009.

  1. jof
    • Premium Supporter

    jof MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 10, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Congratulations!!
    The external Player Option for blu ray discs is so great!
    I tested it right now with pdvd and it worked without a problem.


    Thanks for this great plugin!


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. wkwapil
    • Premium Supporter

    wkwapil MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 27, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    192.168.x.x
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    jof:
    which settings do you have in the plugin-config ? (my PDVD didn't start the blu-ray-iso)

    C:\Programme\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PowerDVD.exe or
    "C:\Programme\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PowerDVD.exe" ?

    %filename% or
    "%filename%" ?

    which chekmarks in PDVD-settings ?
    Thx for your efforts
     

    Attached Files:

    • Snap1.jpg
      Snap1.jpg
      File size:
      95.2 KB
      Uploaded:
      February 18, 2009
      Views:
      629
  4. fforde

    fforde Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,696 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Moved your posts over here to keep things on track in the release thread.

    For those not aware of what's being discussed, Moving Pictures 0.7.1 allows you to specify an external application to play Bluray and HD-DVD content. You can get more details from this guide on the wiki. If anyone has any trouble though, this is the place to ask.
     
  5. wkwapil
    • Premium Supporter

    wkwapil MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 27, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    192.168.x.x
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    John, sry if I have posted in the wrong thread...but I'm a little bit irritated, because my PDVD won't start when playing a blu-ray-iso.
    In your Wiki it's mentioned with inverted comma
    Command-line Arguments
    /fullscreen "%filename%"
    and when I look into MPClient-Config...Moving Pictures Plugin
    there's mentioned %filename% without the inverted comma
    well I'm irritated because I don't know if the inverted comma is needed

    ...that's the reason I asked for an answer

    shit happens ;-(
    I forgot to read the Note !
    sry 4 posting
     
  6. fforde

    fforde Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,696 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Don't worry you did nothing wrong, :p I was just trying to keep the conversation focused and get this discussion in a place other people can find it if they need help too.

    As for the quotes they are usually required. It gets a tiny bit technical, but PowerDVD will probably not properly find the video content if the path contains a space in it unless the path is wrapped in quotes. It will never hurt to add quotes though, and depending on your setup sometimes they are required, so I would just always put them in.
     
  7. armandp
    • Premium Supporter

    armandp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Application Designer
    Location:
    Zoetermeer
    Ratings:
    +616 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    The default settings are just dummy values. It's possible to setup ANY (future) player that will handle Bluray/HD-DVD. The exact settings depend on what player is being used. From experience i know the quotes are needed for both PowerDVD and ArcSoft. For example configurations read the guide. The version of PowerDVD or ArcSoft is also important as some versions can't play from folders and only from iso's or are generally not working correctly but that's out of our hands. Again from experience i know that ArcSoft TMT .125 will play everything correctly when you set it up according to the guide.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. jof
    • Premium Supporter

    jof MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 10, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Here are my settings:

    Executable: C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD8\PowerDVD8.exe
    Commandline arguments: /fullscreen "%filename%"
    --------

    I also disabled autoplay for pdvd!

    I forgot to mention that sometimes I have to press the play button twice for the movie to start. Sometimes nothing happens at first time. But I think this is a daemon tools issue.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. armandp
    • Premium Supporter

    armandp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Application Designer
    Location:
    Zoetermeer
    Ratings:
    +616 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    i pm'd you a test dll to fix the double click, can you confirm if this fixes the issue?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. wkwapil
    • Premium Supporter

    wkwapil MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 27, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    192.168.x.x
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    armandp:
    thx for your explanations
    I've got PDVD working if I start the ISO twice... and I've sent you a PM asking for send the "Test-DLL".
     
  11. jof
    • Premium Supporter

    jof MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 10, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Thanks for the fix! With this dll it works the first time I press play!
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!